Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Cookies

There are currently three boxes of Girl Scout cookies sitting on our kitchen counter,  ice cream in the freezer, cereal on top of the refrigerator, and Craisins in the cupboard. All foods that I can’t eat until after Easter due to the added sugar. The kitchen is a major temptation zone!

But cutting sugar out of my diet has been a positive experience so far. Over the past few months, I’d noticed that I had become addicted to sugar. I had some form of added sugar at nearly every meal, and I relied on it to get me through the day. If I didn’t have sugar, I would feel sluggish and cranky, and I’d think about it CONSTANTLY until I got my hands on something sweet to eat!

My sugar intake had become quite excessive, which is why I made the decision to fast from it during this Lent season. I haven’t had any sugar for about a week and a half, and I’ve realized that I really don’t NEED it. My body actually feels so much better without it!

The only time it’s really hard not to throw in the towel and devour a whole box of samoas is when my suitemates and I are drinking tea or coffee after dinner. I just try to pretend like it’s no big deal when they are eating cookies or ice cream and nibble on some fruit or homemade larabars (minus the chocolate chips).

I’ve also been trying to bake some desserts with no added sugar, like these oatmeal raisin walnut cookies, which are sweetened only with pureed raisins. They were actually really tasty! Of course, they can’t beat my mom’s oatmeal cookies, but they are definitely a great option if you are looking for a sugar-free dessert.

I think these cookies would also be awesome with other dried fruit and nuts. Next time, I’m going to use dried cherries and almond meal with a splash of almond extract in place of the raisins, walnuts, and spices. Doesn’t that sound delicious? I can’t wait to try it out! 🙂

Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Cookies

Source: adapted from Little House in the Suburbs

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 cups walnuts, finely ground
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups golden raisins
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 large egg

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Lightly toast the rolled oats in a dry skillet over medium heat until fragrant. Place toasted oats into a food processor and process to a coarse flour.  Transfer oat flour to a large bowl and combine with ground walnuts, baking powder, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and salt.

3. Place raisins in food processor and process until a thick paste forms. Blend in melted butter and egg. Pour mixture into dry ingredients and mix well.

4. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place on prepared baking sheet. Flatten slightly with bottom of a water glass. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

9 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Dessert

9 responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Cookies

  1. Loving the cookies. Oatmeal raisin walnut is such an awesome combo 😀

  2. Love this! I love anything oatmeal!! Walnuts, raisins and oatmeal make an amazing combo! yum!

  3. Those look phenomenal! I love unique mix-ins like that for oatmeal cookies!

  4. Please come bake for me 🙂 Those look delicious!

  5. Sounds really good! I’m exploring your sugar-free desserts today because I need something for some friends of ours we’re getting together with tonight. I might make this…but I’m still looking to see what else you have. 🙂

    I also gave up processed sugar for Lent. Like you, I found myself wanting something sweet every day, and really…I just don’t need all that sugar. I had a few tough days where I was kind of shaky but other than that, I feel really good and the cravings are pretty much gone.

    I’m eating more fresh fruit which is good for me. I am letting myself have raw agave nectar, raw honey, and raw coconut sap…but only in small amounts.

    Anyway, thanks so much for passing along the recipe, and I’m looking forward to exploring more of your website. 🙂 Cheers! sheila

  6. This is one of my favorite combinations ever-they look great!

  7. Pingback: Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding | Blissful Baking

  8. Pingback: No Bake Cinnamon Almond Date Squares | Blissful Baking

  9. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Blondies | Blissful Baking

Leave a comment