Black Bean Brownies

My friend Katie is joining the Peace Corps, and leaves for Togo tomorrow! Since she’ll be in Africa for the next couple of years, a few of my high school friends and I slept over at her house last night to hang out for the last time before she leaves. Yes, we are all college graduates and we still have sleepovers! 🙂

Lots of awesome food was consumed including various desserts baked by Katie’s mom, chocolate (!) beer, and Jeni’s goat cheese and cognac fig ice cream that I brought, which originated in Ohio! (Ohio has grown on me over the past four years, but Oregon will always be #1 in my heart!).

Also, we had homemade waffles and yak/bison sausages from the farmer’s market for breakfast! Plus MORE cookies and chips. Basically, I had a TON of junk food this weekend, and not much of my usual oatmeal, kale salads, tofu, etc. I am definitely in need of some healthier eats this week.

But of course there is no way that I can eliminate sweets from my diet completely, so I just decided to make a healthier version of one of my favorite desserts. I’ve been on a put-weird-ingredients-in-my-dessert kick lately. Last week it was chickpeas in my blondies and avocado in my cake. Today, I put black beans in my brownies.

I know it sounds pretty unappetizing, but they tasted just like regular brownies. They are delightfully chocolatey, super fudgey, and not beany at all! If I hadn’t made these myself, I would never have guessed that the main ingredient was a can of black beans. Also, these brownies are completely gluten-free and oil-free! Pretty unbelievable, right? You MUST try them for yourself!

Black Bean Brownies

Source: adapted from Amy Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 1/2-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  •  1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons instant coffee
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray an 8×8 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

2. Place black beans, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, eggs, instant coffee, and vanilla extract in a food processor and process until completely smooth and well-combined.

3. Pour batter into prepared baking dish. Sprinkle with chocolate chips and chopped nuts. Bake in preheated oven for 26-30 minutes, or until top is dry and edges begin to pull away from baking dish. Cool brownies completely in pan before cutting into squares.

9 Comments

Filed under Bars/Squares, Dessert

9 responses to “Black Bean Brownies

  1. I am so intrigued by these brownies! I am a brownie addict so of course I need to try them – thanks for sharing:)

  2. I love black bean brownies! And Jeni’s ice cream is the BEST. The strawberry buttermilk and salty caramel flavors are my fave.

  3. The Teenage Taste

    I’ve seen Black Bean Brownies all over the internet, but am super hesitant to give them a try! You can’t taste the black beans at all? Promise?
    Either way these look delicious. So moist and fudgy!

  4. Those black bean brownies look amazing, I’ve always been too scared to make them but I hear they taste awesome

  5. wow! another creative way of baking with healthy foods- I love it!

  6. Pingback: Salted Caramel Cupcakes | Blissful Baking

  7. actorsdiet

    i’ve made black bean brownies once the lazy way – box mix. was really pleasantly surprised!

  8. Mama ruthy

    This is a great recipe! loved them. My first attempt yesterday, and found them delish. I added a splosh of rum, just because. I also don’t have a food processor, so some of my beans didn’t blend up. If you only have a mixer, mash them a little first! lol. My 16 year old liked the chickpea blondies, but enjoyed these as well.

Leave a comment