Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding

I know I’ve said this before (and probably more than once), but I really, really love oatmeal. For breakfast most mornings, I have a big fluffy bowl of banana oatmeal with lots of fun toppings for crunch and chew. If I go more than a day or two without oatmeal, I really start to crave it!

Oatmeal is even delicious cold or baked! You can also use oats to make snack bars, granola bars, breadand cookies. They’re so versatile! And healthy, too. They’re a great source of whole grains and fiber, and keep you feeling full and energized. Basically, oats are awesome. 🙂

You would think that with my major obsession with oats that I would have exhausted all the possible oatmeal recipes by now, but they are endless! I tried something new for dessert tonight with a baked chocolate banana oatmeal breakfast pudding, and oh my gosh, it was sooo good!

Straight out of the oven, the chocolatey flavor and warm, gooey texture were absolutely divine! This pudding can be served as a nutritious breakfast, but it also makes an incredibly decadent dessert. It doesn’t taste “healthy” at all! The best part is that this pudding is completely sugar free (sweetened just with ripe bananas), so I can enjoy as much as my chocolate-loving heart desires! 🙂

I realize that my pictures of this delicious pudding actually make it look rather gross (the second picture in particular just looks like a gooey brown mess). This is not exactly the most photogenic dish, and my picture-taking skills are terrible, so please trust me when I say that this pudding is simply AMAZING! 🙂

P.S. To make this pudding a little more visually appealing (and even more tasty!), you could garnish it with powdered sugar, chopped nuts, and/or sliced bananas!

Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding

Source: adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup lightly toasted hazelnuts
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup mashed banana (about 2 medium-large bananas)
  • 1 1/4 cups nonfat milk
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and lightly grease a 4-6 cup (1-1.5 liter) casserole dish.

2. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth, stopping to scrape down sides if necessary.

3. Pour mixture into prepared casserole dish and bake in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes.

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert

10 responses to “Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding

  1. um yes? I’ve been obsessed with the idea of breakfast pudding lately, must make this!

  2. Hii Justeen! Thanks so much for coming by with a sweet comment~:) your desserts and baked goodies all look delicioso 😀

  3. oh yum! What a fun and creative way to start the day!

  4. That does look really good. But would you believe that I like oats in just about anything, but I hate oatmeal. I think it’s a texture thing.

  5. moveovercelery

    Yum, you’re definitely not the only one who is obsessed with oatmeal! 🙂 I have never tried baked oatmeal. I just like my usual bowl of overnight oats but I’m definitely going to try this!

  6. This sounds so yummy! I especially like the fact that it has no sugar to boot!

  7. nancy Kelly

    I am eating a warm bowl of this pudding as I write. It is yummy. I like things a bit sweeter so next time, I think I will add a tablesppon of brown sugar. Also, I didn’t have any hazelnuts so I threw in toasted slivered almonds…tasty.
    Thansk for sharing the recipe!

  8. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Blondies | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

