Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins

 

Throughout elementary, middle, and high school, I ate a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch every. single. day. I hated lunch meat, and the thought of eating cheese on a sandwich grossed me out (Yes, I know. I was weird). Although my mom offered other to pack me other sandwiches for lunch like chicken, egg, or tuna salad, PB & J was my favorite.
 
I was particular about my PB & J, too. Since my health-nut mother refused to have sugary storebought jam, processed peanut butter, and white bread in the house, my PB &  J always consisted of my mom’s homemade jam, Adam’s natural peanut butter, and whole grain bread. I’ve long outgrown my PB & J stage, but I still like to have one on occasion. They’re especially yummy when toasted 🙂
 


So when I got a craving for PB & J the other day, I decided to make them with a twist, in muffin form. After failing to find a suitable recipe, I just decided to come up with my own. I whipped these up last night between cramming for an exam and writing a paper. It was a lovely break from studying 🙂

I love that these muffins are not too sweet, but still resemble the taste of the old classic. They’re also healthy enough to serve for breakfast 🙂

Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins

Makes 12 regular-sized muffins

Ingredients

  • ¾ cup all-purpose flour
  • ¾ cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup peanut butter (crunchy or smooth)
  • ¼ cup applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/3 cup jam (any flavor. I used blackberry pomegranate)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350˚ F and grease a muffin tin or line with paper liners.

2. Whisk together all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.

3. In a separate bowl, combine brown sugar, peanut butter, applesauce, egg, milk, and vanilla, and mix thoroughly. Add in the flour mixture, and stir until just combined. Do not over mix!

4. Fill each muffin cup with about two tablespoons of batter. Add a heaping teaspoon of jam on top of each and then cover with remaining batter.

5. Place in oven and bake for 16-18 minutes. Muffin should spring back when lightly pressed.

6. Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

8 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Muffins

8 responses to “Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins

  1. hanjoon

    pbnj my favorite! 😉 nice post. your pictures aren’t bad at all!

  2. what a great idea for muffins – they look delicious!

  3. A great back to school treat.

  4. Ilana

    I will certainly try it! Looks pretty healthy for a muffin. Thanks for the recipe.

  5. Pingback: Apple Crisp « Blissful Baking

  6. liz

    ooooooooh maaaaan, these are GOOD.

    i didn’t have applesauce, so i used the last of my sister’s apple butter; a mix of crunchy and smooth peanut butter; and blackberry jam. i didn’t have paper cups, so i greased the heck out of my muffin tin, baked them for 17 minutes, and was rewarded with the most perfect, smooth, bouncy, beautiful muffin i have ever beheld.

    and ooooooooh maaaaan, these are GOOD. just in case that wasn’t made clear right off the bat. THANK YOU for this recipe!

  7. Pingback: Maple Almond Butter Cookies | Blissful Baking

Leave a comment