Apple Crisp

What do you do when you have two papers to write and some slightly mealy Granny Smiths in the fridge? Make apple crisp, of course! It was stormy outside and I REALLY did not feeling like starting on my papers, so I decided to make some good old comfort food. Originally, I was thinking about making apple pie, since Ahra suggested it, but who wants to wait around that long for dessert? Not me. So apple crisp it was!

Apples are one of my favorite fruits. I like Fuji and honeycrisp apples best. During my freshman, sophomore, and junior years of college, I ate at least one apple every day. Some days I would eat three or four. I tend to get addicted to things easily. Remember my obsession with PB&J? It’s not that I necessarily thinks these foods are SO DELICIOUS or anything, but once I get in the habit of eating something regularly, I NEED to have it every day. Did I mention that I’m weird?

Anyways, one of the reasons that I like apples so much is that they are super versatile. You can eat them sliced with peanut butter, cover them with caramel and shove them on a stick, make applesauce, and you can even put them in soup! The other day I made a pureed roasted carrot and onion soup with apple and it added a hint of sweetness that was just lovely. But of course, my most favorite way to use apples is in baking!

This apple crisp was amazing, if I do say so myself. Especially the topping. Oh my gosh, the topping! Ridiculously good. The above picture shows how much was left after my suitemates and I attacked it. Then the boyfriend came over and polished it off. The apple crisp was completely gone less than an hour after it came out of the oven. This recipe rocks, other than the fact that it doesn’t produce any leftovers 🙂

Apple Crisp

Source: adapted from Betty Crocker

Ingredients

  • 4 large Granny Smith apples, cut into 1-inch chunks (I left the skins on)
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 6 tablespoons butter, well softenened

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, and grease a 8×8 inch baking dish.

2. In a large bowl, toss chopped apples with granulated sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Place the apples in the prepared baking dish.

3. In a medium bowl, combine brown sugar, oats, flour, pecans (if using), and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Work in softened butter with a fork until evenly distributed. Mixture will be lumpy. Sprinkle evenly over apples in baking dish.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes, until topping is golden brown and apples are tender when pierced with a fork. Cool 5-10 minutes before serving.

2 Comments

Filed under Cobblers/Crisps, Dessert

2 responses to “Apple Crisp

  1. I loove apple crisp – looks great!

  2. hanjoon

    this only got one comment. why?? it was good

Leave a Reply

