Quinoa Oatmeal Bars

I had a minor freakout this morning because I realized that a) I only have two (!) more weeks of classes until finals, and b) my last year of undergrad is almost over!!  Before then I have multiple end-of-the-semester papers, presentations, and exams. Things are going to be a little hectic for the next few weeks, to say the least.

Also, in exactly one month from today, just a few days before graduation, my dad and I will be driving down to Charlottesville, VA. I’ve decided to attend the University of Virginia for grad school starting in the fall, so we need to find me a place to live!

Everything is happening so quickly! It’s exciting, but somewhat stressful, too. I have about a zillion things on my plate right now, so I did what I always do when I’m feeling overwhelmed – bake! 🙂

I wanted to make something similar to the oatmeal snack bars that I’ve been taking with me whenever I leave home for more than a couple of hours. For these bars, I added some raw quinoa along with the oats, used 3 different dried fruits, whole almonds, and some mashed bananas.  Then I blended everything up in my handy-dandy food processor! 🙂

I think these are my new favorite snack bars! The sweetness from the banana and dried fruits is so delish, and I loveeee the added crunch from the quinoa. I made these bars because they are free of added sugar, but I’ll definitely still be making them often even after Lent is over. 🙂

Quinoa Oatmeal Bars

Source: adapted from Anja’s Food 4 Thought

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 2/3 cup whole almonds
  • 1/3 cup golden raisins
  • 1/3 cup pitted dates
  • 1/4 cup zante currants
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 medium overripe bananas
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and line a 9×9 inch square baking pan with parchment paper.

2. Combine oats, almonds, raisins, dates, currants, and salt in a food processor and process until ingredients are finely chopped.

3. Mash bananas and cinnamon in a small bowl, then add them to the food processor. Pulse until well-combined.

4. Scrape mixture into prepared baking pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes, and let cool completely before cutting into bars. Store in an airtight container.

9 Comments

Filed under Bars/Squares

9 responses to “Quinoa Oatmeal Bars

  1. Congrats on almost being done with classes and undergrad! I remember how excited I was but super freaked out. I actually miss undergrad a lot 🙂

    Great oatmeal bars, they look delish 😀

  2. congrats on being so close to the end of the year! these bars look like the perfect study food!

  3. Those quinoa bars look so delish! Congrats on being almost done, that is such a good feeling 🙂

  4. These look amazing! (I have a similar recipe on http://eating-made-easy.com/2010/04/13/breakfast-quinoa/ ) Gotta love the oatmeal/quinoa combo.

    Congrats on graduation and the decision to go to grad school. Good luck, and take it easy this summer 🙂

  5. I have some quinoa I need to use up and these look like a good day to do it. These bars look great!

  6. I have been trying to think of a way to incorporate quinoa into my diet and I think this is brilliant. I love making homemade granola bars, thanks for the recipe!
    Good luck in you finals!

  7. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Blondies | Blissful Baking

  8. JRL

    I don’t see what to do with the quinoa in the directions.

Leave a Reply

