Peanut Butter Banana Filled Oat Muffins

Ever since giving up sugar for Lent, I’ve been baking a lot less. I can no longer whip up a batch of my favorite chocolate chip cookies whenever I get a craving or immediately try out a new recipe I see on a blog. Well, I guess I could, but I wouldn’t be able to sample whatever I bake, and there’s no fun it that! 🙂

I’ve been searching high and low for recipes with no added sugars, and it’s been rather difficult. Many recipes don’t have any refined sugar, but still include honey, maple syrup, or molasses (all added sugars). Also, a lot of recipes call for artificial sweeteners – yuck!

Another issue with sugar-free recipes is that many of them are pretty similar. They use a lot of same ingredients such as oats, dates, raisins, and bananas, which can get a little boring. I have nothing against plain and simple desserts, but I also like a little variation in my life!

I’ve had a few baking experiments over the past couple of weeks that have produced less than stellar results, so I’ve learned not to get my hopes up when baking without added sugar. I know you don’t NEED sugar to make tasty treats, but it really does help improve the taste and texture of baked goods.

So when I saw this recipe for peanut butter filled banana muffins, I really, really hoped that they would be good. And they were! Faith claimed that they were the best muffins ever, and I have to agree that they were pretty darn spectacular.

What makes these muffins so irresistible is the amazing peanut butter and banana filling. I’m surprised that there was any left to fill the muffins – I couldn’t stop sampling it! I’ll be making these muffins again for sure, but I’ll also be whipping up batches of just the filling to snack on. I can’t get enough! 🙂

Peanut Butter Banana Filled Oat Muffins

Source: adapted from Gracefulfitness

Ingredients

For the muffins:

  • 1/2  cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tablespoons whole flax seeds (I didn’t have any, so I used sunflower seeds)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 medium ripe bananas
  • 1/2 plain yogurt
  • 1 large egg

For the filling:

  • 1 medium ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup salted peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 6 muffin cups.

2. In a large bowl, combine flours, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a food processor, process bananas, yogurt, and egg until smooth. Pour mixture into dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Do not overmix.

4. To make the filling, blend banana, peanut butter, and vanilla in a food processor until smooth.

5. Scoop just under 1/4 cup of batter into each muffin cup. Place a heaping tablespoon of filling on center of each cup of batter. Top each muffin cup with another scant 1/4 cup batter.

6. Bake in preheated oven for about 15 minutes. Do not overbake. Leave muffins in pan for 5-10 minutes before removing and cooling completely on a wire rack.

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert, Muffins

9 responses to “Peanut Butter Banana Filled Oat Muffins

  1. Yum, I love anything with filling. And banana+PB is stellar!

  2. Wow those muffins look amazing!

  3. no sugar!! i can’t believe…i may need to make these to test them out myself 🙂

  4. great recipe, I try not to bake during lent, but it always fails..I love theses muffins!!

    sweetlife

  5. Ohhhh my gosh. These are glorious!

  6. Pingback: Orange Ginger Date Bites | Blissful Baking

  7. Jill

    Doesn’t peanut butter have added surgar?

Leave a Reply

