Honey Oatmeal Bread

This weekend was full of bread baking. While I love bread (carbs!!), I’ve only made my own a handful of times. Probably because it can be pretty time-consuming, and most yeast breads aren’t dessert-like enough for me. I’d much rather bake (and eat) cookies or cake or muffins or quick bread. 🙂

Also, I haven’t had too much success with bread-baking in the past. Last summer, I attempted to make whole wheat bread a few times, and while tasty, the loaves were always too dry, too dense, too crumbly, etc. But this weekend, all three kinds of bread that I made turned out so well!

The favorite among my suitemates was the honey oatmeal bread, which smelled heavenly as it was baking. It definitely looked the prettiest out of the three loaves, and it sliced beautifully. Some of my  homemade breads have been rather hideous-looking, so I was super excited about how this loaf turned out!

Sadly, I couldn’t taste the bread for myself, since I’ve commited to eliminate all added sugars from my diet during  Lent. Ahra and Deborah have been raving about it nonstop though, so I’m DYING to try it. I’ll have to bake a whole loaf for myself when I can eat sugar again!

Honey Oat Bread

Source: adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons rolled oats, divided
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons (1 .25 ounce package) active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 4 cups bread flour (plus more, if needed)

Directions

1. In a large bowl, combine boiling water, 1 cup rolled oats, honey, butter, and salt. Let stand for 1 hour.

2. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until foamy, about 5-10 minutes.

3. Pour yeast mixture into oat mixture. Add 2 cups bread flour, and mix well with wooden spoon. Stir in remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after each addition until dough has pulled together.

4. Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 20 minutes. If dough is too sticky, add more bread flour, 1/4 cup at a time. (I added about 1/2 cup more bread flour).

5. Place dough in a lightly greased large bowl and turn to coat. Cover bowl with a damp cloth and allow to rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

6. Punch down dough and turn onto lightly floured surface. Divide dough into two equal pieces and form into loaves. Place loaves into two lightly greased 9×5 inch loaf pans. Cover loaves with a damp cloth and let rise until doubled in volume, about 40 minutes.

7. While loaves are rising, preheat oven to 375 degrees F. After loaves are doubled in volume, sprinkle with 2 tablespoons of rolled oats, and bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, until top is golden brown. Allow to cool for 10 minutes, then remove from pan and place on wire rack to cool completely.

11 Comments

Filed under Bread

11 responses to “Honey Oatmeal Bread

  1. that bread looks to die for!

  2. oooh this looks good… and I have lots of honey to use up.. and as far as the oats, rolled oats are not the same as Old fashioned oats that come in a cardboard canister? (stupid question prolly)
    Thanks for sharing, I may just make some up today if i have all the ingredients
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  3. Lettuce Choose Healthy

    I’ve been wanting to make bread for so long now!.. Thanks for the recipe! Now I just need to get a loaf pan.

  4. oh yum! what a great bread for so many different uses!

  5. I can’t even begin to explain how excited I am that you shared this recipe! I posted about a specific bread I love and how I’m thinking about making a homemade version! I think your honey loaf would be an excellent starting point! Thank you so much!

  6. Nothing is better than fresh homemade bread. This looks amazing!!

  7. Pingback: Oatmeal Snack Bars | Blissful Baking

  8. Pingback: Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

