White Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake Balls

It’s 1:30 am and I just finished showering after doing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred followed by a 2-mile speed walk. I know some people would think that I’m crazy for exercising so late at night, but I felt so disgusting from eating copious amounts of sugar all day long, that I just couldn’t go to bed without working out first!

Although I usually don’t eat very healthily on weekends, today was especially bad. My fruit and vegetable servings came in the form of a few bites of a blueberry bagel and a couple handfuls of fries, respectively. My dairy intake consisted of a vanilla milkshake with Oreo and iced chai latte.

The only other thing that I consumed today was about a zillion white chocolate covered strawberry cake balls that I made for Valentine’s Day. These cake balls are small and easy to pop in your mouth, and they’re just so tasty that it’s impossible to eat just one! 🙂

This was my first time making cake balls, and I’m so pleased at how cute they turned out! Especially with the sprinkles! 🙂 I used strawberry cake mix in honor of Valentine’s Day, but red velvet would also be lovely. Or dark chocolate!

The thing about this recipe, though, is that it makes a TON of cake balls. It’s perfect for taking to a party or giving away as gifts, but not so good news for your waistline if you plan on keeping them all for yourself. I have a feeling I’m going to be having a lot of extra late night workouts this week! 🙂

White Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake Balls

Source: adapted from Bakerella

Ingredients

  • 1 box strawberry cake mix
  • 1 16-ounce can cream cheese frosting
  • 1 16-ounce package white chocolate disks

Directions

1. Bake cake according to directions on box. Allow cake to cool competely, then crumble into a large bowl.

2. Add entire can of cream cheese frosting to crumbled cake and mix thoroughly using your hands.

3. Roll mixture into 1-inch balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. (I got about 60 balls out of one batch)

4. Chill cake balls in refrigerator for several hours or overnight.

5. In a microwave safe bowl, melt chocolate per directions on package.

6. Using a spoon, dip and roll cake balls in melted chocolate, then lift and tap off extra. Place cake balls on parchment paper until firm.

Tip: To keep chocolate smooth while coating all of the cake balls, place the bowl of melted chocolate in a slightly larger bowl with about an inch of hot water.

9 Comments

Filed under Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

9 responses to “White Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake Balls

  1. I started cake balls once.. but never got to the dipping stage (long story, basically I had too many things to bake on my plate)… I need to revisit them though. But as suggested, probably not just for myself, need a party invitation first. How on earth did you get your dipping so perfect? I hate it and it usually shows.
    Take care
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  2. Oh yum, I absolutely LOVE cake balls! These are perfect as a Valentine’s Day gift!

  3. You had me at white chocolate 😉

  4. I can no longer come over here when I am on a cleanse 😉 Your baked goods are killing me! Lol.

    These are gorgeous! I hope you have a great v-day!

    xxoo

  5. oh these are too cute! how fun!

  6. These look great! Love the sprinkles!

  7. Those look like the absolute death of me. And by that I mean…I’ll take 60 to go please.

  8. I was just stalking your blog a bit and I had to comment on these. They look so0o good! In Austin (where I grew up) we have a cake ball trailer that sells different flavors of cake dipped in different frostings and served cold on a stick! Like a cake pop! You could totally do that.

  9. angelina

    Can these be put in the freezer? I’d like to freeze some for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

