Chocolate Almond Torte

I’m one of those people that rarely buys anything for myself. While I definitely don’t mind spending money on gifts for friends and family, I hardly ever buy myself any clothes, accessories, electronics, etc. Nearly 100% of the money I spend on myself is for food! 🙂

Even when I see something that I REALLY want, I almost always talk myself out of buying it or wait until it goes on major sale. Or until someone else buy it for me. 🙂  I wore my running shoes to death until my dad noticed their extremely worn out state and bought me a new pair.

I think I feel guilty spending money on myself, and I don’t feel like I can justify expensive or unnecessary purchases. I tend to see it as a waste, especially for things that I don’t really need. Yesterday, I ordered some chia seeds online, and I was practically cringing the whole time!

But I may have to make a big purchase very, very soon because my electric stand mixer has been falling apart on me. Yesterday, as I was beating egg whites for this chocolate almond torte, one of the beaters broke! And I think the motor is dying on me too. 😦

I use my stand mixer all the time for baking, so I really can’t live without it. Maybe I will have to settle for a hand mixer for now. Oh well… at least this cake (which has NO flour or butter, by the way!), was delightfully chocolatey and delicious! 🙂

Chocolate Almond Torte

Source: adapted from Unfussy Fare

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups almond meal
  • 7 ounces semisweet chocolate, broken into large pieces
  • 1/3 + 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 7 large egg whites (about 1 cup), room temperature

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and position rack in lower third of oven. Grease the sides of a 9-inch springform pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.

2. Place chocolate, 1/3 cup sugar, and salt in a food processor and pulse until chocolate is finely chopped. Add in almond meal and pulse until combined.

3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat egg whites and 1/4 cup sugar until stiff peaks form.

4. Gently fold one third of nut mixture into beaten egg whites until just incorporated. Repeat with another third of the nut mixture, then once more with the last third.

5. Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake in preheated oven for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of cake comes of clean, or with just a little melted chocolate.

6. Cool cake completely on wire rack. Remove cake from pan and dust with powdered sugar before serving. Store at room temperature, covered or wrapped tightly for up to 3 days.

8 Comments

Filed under Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

8 responses to “Chocolate Almond Torte

  1. liz

    just think about it this way: you’re buying the mixer… to bake things… that you can give to other people. so, in actuality, you’re practically buying the mixer for all your friends and family. it is in fact more selfish of you not to buy a shiny brand new kitchenaid mixer, thus opening yourself to the spice mill and ice cream maker attachments.

  2. Wow, that looks SO delicious!!! Send me a slice? 😉

  3. oh wow, this looks incredible and I can’t believe the ingredients are so basic- I’m definitely saving this recipe!

  4. This looks delicious! Yum!

  5. I love chocolate and almonds, it is my favourite.

Leave a Reply

