Egg Custard Tarts

Happy February! I woke up today hoping that the university would be closed due to the huge winter storm that was supposed to hit, but no such luck. I consoled myself with a delicious bowl of chocolate oatmeal with peanut butter before trudging through the snow to my first class. I felt like I was eating dessert for breakfast! 🙂

You would think that after eating a chocolatey breakfast, my sweet tooth would be satisfied for the day, but no. I wanted more! I snacked on a Homemade Larabar and a Godiva Hazelnut Praline truffle, which kept my sweet tooth quiet for the afternoon. But by dinner time, I was looking for some sugar again!

Although I love sweets, I don’t like anything TOO sweet. Overly sugary treats make me want to gag, and I’d actually prefer to eat something super bland. So for dessert, I made egg custard tarts, which don’t have too much sugar, but definitely enough to make my tastebuds happy!

These egg custard tarts are just lovely with a cup of tea, especially when they’re still warm from the oven. The sweet, silky custard is to die for! Somehow I managed to stop after eating just one of these yummy tarts, but I’m starting to crave another one. I better brush my teeth and go to bed before I give in! 🙂

Egg Custard Tarts

Source: adapted from Baking Bites

Ingredients

For the crust:

  • 1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, chilled
  • 1 large egg

For the filling:

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. To make the crust, combine flour, sugar, and salt in a food processor, and pulse to combine. Pulse in butter until mixture is crumbly, then blend in egg until dough comes together. The mixture should look like wet sand, and may still be crumbly.

3. Pour mixture into a Ziploc bag and press into a ball. Seal bag and refrigerate for about 15 minutes.

4. To make the filling, whisk together sugar and egg yolks by hand until sugar is dissolved. Avoid making the mixture light or foamy. Whisk in milk, then strain mixture into a measuring cup (or other container that is easy to pour from).

5. Divide slightly chilled dough into 10 equal portions. Press each piece of dough evenly on the bottom and about 2/3 – 3/4 of the way up the sides of a muffin cup to form small tart shells. Flatten tops of crusts gently with your fingers to prevent filling from running out.

6. Pour filling into tart shells, filling them to the top, but not overfilling. Discard leftover filling. Bake tarts for about 20-25 minutes, until filling is set, but still slightly jiggly when in center when pan is shifted.

7. Cool tarts in pan for about 30 minutes, then gently lift out tarts using a butter knife. Place tarts on wire rack to finish cooling completely.

10 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Pies

10 responses to “Egg Custard Tarts

  1. These sound fabulous! I love everything Lemon!

  2. I imagine these being like tiny creme brulee in buttery crusts 🙂

    • That sounds like a pretty accurate description 🙂 Except these tarts aren’t quite as sweet, rich, and creamy, and they don’t have the lovely burned sugar on top! Ohh, now I’m really in the mood for some creme brulee! 🙂

  3. I don’t think egg custard does these scrumptious little tarts justice. They look heavenly.

  4. Oh lovely! I love custard-y desserts like this.

  5. oh wow -these are so cute! 🙂

  6. Those egg custard tarts look DELISH! I will definitely have to give them a try! 🙂

  7. I’ve actually never had an egg custard tart… I guess I need to fix that!!

  8. Hanna

    UNNI those look so good 🙂 I miss your baking…this is making me wanna go back to Case…wow I can’t believe I just said that haha

    anyways keep blogging so I can at least look at the wonderful things you are baking and be jealous 🙂

Leave a Reply

