Carrot Pineapple Bread

Sometimes the smallest, simplest are the things that make me smile the most! πŸ™‚

Things I’m loving right now:

Drinking tea in my adorable travel mug from dearest Angelina. πŸ™‚

Dark chocolate pearls from Deborah! πŸ™‚

Blueberry milk after a workout. πŸ™‚ So sad that we ran out of frozen blueberries yesterday!

My mom’s homemade concord grape jam. πŸ™‚ SO yummy on PB&J!

Sniffing my Danish Butter Cookie candle. πŸ™‚ It smells good enough to eat!

Carrots! πŸ™‚Β I know some people would think I was crazy if I told themΒ that eating a vegetableΒ made me happy, but it’s true! They’re naturally sweet, crunchy, and bright orange. What’s not to love? And the best thing of all? You can bake with them! πŸ™‚

As a child, I thought carrot cake was gross, but now I loveeee it! I REALLY wanted some carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, but I went with this healthy(er) carrot bread instead. Even after I health-ified the recipe, the carrot bread tasted just like cake! πŸ™‚

And just because I can’t ever get enough of carrots, I made carrot pineapple oatmeal this morning, which was inspired by Kath Eats Real Food. I felt like I was eating dessert for breakfast. πŸ™‚ Yum!

Sorry for the smiley face overload! Food just makes me happy. πŸ™‚

Carrot Pineapple Bread

Source: adapted from Sugar Duchess, originally from Taste of Home Baking Book

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2Β teaspoon salt
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • half an 8-ounce can crushed pineapple, drained (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a 8×4 inch loaf pan.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.

3. In a separate bowl, lightly beat the egg and egg white. Add carrots, oil, pineapple, and vanilla. Mix thoroughly.

4. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir until just combined. The batter will be very thick. Fold in pecans.

5. Scrape batter into prepared loaf pan and bake in preheated oven for 50-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of loaf comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack, then remove from pan and cool completely on wire rack.

14 Comments

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Dessert

14 responses to “Carrot Pineapple Bread

  1. kt

    Omgggggg they make dark chocolate bubbles!?! Why did I never know of this? The world is a happier place now… πŸ™‚

  2. oh what a great idea for bread – looks wonderful!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! πŸ˜€

    This looks delicious! I never would have thought to combine carrots and pineapple! πŸ˜€

  4. Angelina

    Aw, I made the blog!

  5. Oh yummy! I am all about carrot cake, that’s what I ask for on my birthday! And I love sweet and juicy pineapple, so I know I would love this bread πŸ™‚

  6. I am out of carrots but am going to pick up some today so that I can make these. They look delicious!

  7. The bread sounds delish, but you have me wondering – what on earth is blueberry milk? Is it exactly what it sounds like??

  8. Pingback: Carrot Pineapple Bread | *Whole Health ~ The Simple Way*

  9. I made it on Monday…DELISH! πŸ™‚ I will probably make another loaf this week, too! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

