Blueberry Muffins

I am officially tired of winter. After the excitement of the first snow fall and the holidays, winter just gets old. In Cleveland, winter tends to last until April, so I am NOT looking forward to the next three months of wet, gray weather. I usually prefer winter to summer, but the crazy weather earlier this week had me desperately wishing for sunshine and blue skies.

After a weekend of unbearably cold weather, the temperature shot up into the high 30’s on Tuesday. Snow piled up on road sides melted into huge slush puddles, and it also started raining on my way to class. Conveniently, I forgot to wear my rain boots and bring my umbrella, so I arrived at the lecture hall with my shoes and socks completely soaked, and my hair dripping wet. Gross.

I sat through two classes feeling, looking, and smelling like a big soggy mess, so I was not in the best mood when I had to trudge home in the rain again. A couple of days ago, Deborah had requested that I make blueberry muffins, and that sounded like the perfect thing to cheer me up. I’ve tried a bunch of blueberry muffin recipes, but the batch I baked on Tuesday night were my favorite by far!

The muffins were incredibly fluffy and moist, with just the right amount of sweetness. They were a lovely dose of summer that brightened up my day instantly! The muffins disappeared before I could have one for breakfast the next morning, so I just mixed some frozen blueberries into my oatmeal. I love the pretty purple color! 🙂

P.S. For more blueberry muffin goodness, enter this giveaway to try the new Larabar flavor!

Blueberry Muffins

Source: Smitten Kitchen, orginially from Cook’s Illustrated

Ingredients

  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt (or sour cream)
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup blueberries (I used frozen wild blueberries)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line a muffin tin with 10 (I used 11) paper liners.

2. Beat butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat until well-incorporated. Then add yogurt and lemon zest and beat until combined.

3. In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add half of the flour mixture into the batter and mix until combined. Add remaining dry ingredients to the batter and stir until just combined. Gently fold in the blueberries.

4. Scoop batter into muffin cups, filling each cup about 3/4 full. Bake for 25-30 minutes (I only baked my muffins for about 18 minutes, so start checking muffins for doneness after 15 minutes) in preheated oven, until tops are golden and toothpick inserted in center of muffin comes out clean.

5. Remove muffins from tin and allow to cool on a wire rack.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert, Muffins

4 responses to “Blueberry Muffins

  1. Wow, your oatmeal really did turn blue!! Very pretty. 🙂 Love the muffins, too!

  2. ooh I’d love one of those for breakfast!

  3. YUM your blueberry muffins look soo tasty!

  4. Pingback: Oatmeal Snack Bars | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

