Whole Wheat Pecan Coffee Cake

My tastebuds are totally off – nothing tastes good to me today. I’m one of those people who’s always hungry and constantly snacking throughout the day, but today I haven’t really felt like eating at all.

Before heading off to church this morning, I had a red bean bun, but I didn’t enjoy breakfast as much as I normally do. And after church, a group of us went to get lunch at Superior Pho, but as soon as the noodle soup I had ordered was placed in front of me, I just didn’t feel like eating it anymore. I only had a few bites before letting Yoon finish my bowl.

I didn’t even feel like eating sweets! While grocery shopping today, the boyfriend offered to buy me ice cream, and normally I would have jumped at the offer, but today I refused. I think he was pretty shocked! 🙂

Even when this whole wheat pecan coffee cake was in the oven and making the whole kitchen smell amazing, I wasn’t really in the mood for it. I did have a slice though, and it was pretty yummy. The boyfriend liked it a lot too. He even had another slice, and he rarely has seconds of dessert! I guess he missed my baking. 🙂

Hopefully my tastedbuds will have a better day tomorrow!

P.S. I finally baked something healthy! This coffee cake is made with whole wheat flour and only 3 tablespoons of butter! This is one cake you won’t feel guilty about eating for breakfast. 🙂

Whole Wheat Pecan Coffee Cake

Source: adapted from Cookie Madness

Ingredients

For the streusel:

  • 1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

For the cake:

  • 1 cup lightly spooned and swept whole wheat flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 6 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder (I accidentally only used 1/2 teaspoon, but the cake still turned out fine!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons lightly beaten egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour an 8-inch round cake pan. (I used a 9-inch pan because it’s all I had).

2. To make the streusel, stir together pecans, brown sugar, and cinnamon in a small bowl. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using your fingers, rub butter into flour mixture until it is coarse and mealy, and resembles soft bread crumbs.

4. In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, egg, and vanilla. Add to flour mixture and stir until just combined. Mixture should resemble cream of wheat, and not be completely smooth.

5. Spread about 2/3 batter into prepared pan. Sprinkle half of streusel over batter. Spread remaining batter over nuts, then top with remaining streusel.

6. Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes. (I baked mine for about 18 minutes because I used a 9-inch pan). Cool cake for about 10 minutes before removing it from the pan.

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

7 responses to “Whole Wheat Pecan Coffee Cake

  1. this looks so good! love that it includes whole wheat!

  2. oh this coffee cake looks perfect with a cup of coffee!

    Guess what? You won my giveaway for the Mavea Water Filter! Please send your mailing address to me at simplylife1@gmail.com – congrats!

  3. This looks amazing! I wish I had time TONIGHT to make it! : )

  4. Perhaps you’ve been eating too many good stuff lately and your tastebuds is just saturated. Hee hee. Hope they return back to their hungry selves! The cake looks amazing though…thankfully my tastebuds are greedy as usual and now I’m drooling!

  5. Aww hopefully your tastebuds will be back to normal soon! Your cake looks amazing!

  6. This sounds nutty and delicious. I have to love anything with a streusel on top. And I love how it’s slightly healthy so you can eat more 🙂

Leave a Reply

