Raised Doughnuts

I’m flying back to Cleveland tonight, so after a lovely lunch with my mom at the Fresh Thyme Soup Company, I spent the rest of the afternoon packing, which was no easy task. I accumulated quite a lot of stuff over the past 3 weeks, so I was barely able to zip up  my suitcases. I have a feeling that they might not meet the 50-pound weight limit…

One reason my suitcases are so heavy is due to the TONS of food that my parents INSISTED that I take back. I guess they think there are no grocery stores in Cleveland. 🙂

Here’s a list of all the food that’s currently in my suitcases (along with clothes, Christmas gifts, etc.):

  • 2 boxes Nature’s Path cereal
  • 1 box (25) Kashi granola bars
  • 1 box multigrain crackers
  • 1 2.5 lb. can of peanuts
  • 1 jar almond butter
  • 3 lbs. Korean sweet potatoes
  • a few bananas
  • 1 Kabocha squash
  • 1 package dried seaweed
  • 1 package dried pollack
  • 2 lbs. cake flour
  • 2 lbs. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 lb. almond meal
  • assorted teas

And my mom is still trying squeeze more food into my suitcases!

I’ve been spending as much time with friends and family these last few days, so I haven’t had time for baking. I still wanted to post a recipe though, and a trip to VooDoo Doughnut with some friends earlier this week reminded me that I still haven’t posted about the doughnuts I made last semester!

Although my doughnuts weren’t nearly as fun and interesting as the ones from Voodoo, they were still really yummy! And yes, I realize that this is yet another recipe that isn’t exactly healthy… Okay fine, they are downright junk! Oh well. Maybe next time? 🙂

Raised Doughnuts

Source: adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients

  • 1 (0.25 ounce) envelope active dry yeast
  • 2 tablespoons warm water (105-115 degrees F)
  • 3/4 cup lukewarm milk
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons shortening
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups vegetable oil for frying

Directions

1. In a large bowl, sprinkle the yeast over the warm water, and let stand for 5 minutes, or until foamy.

2. Add milk, sugar, salt, eggs, shortening, and 2 cups of the flour to yeast mixture. Mix for a few minutes at low speed, or stirring with a wooden spoon. Beat in remaining flour 1/4 cup at a time, until the dough no longer sticks to the bowl.

3. Knead for about 5 minutes, or until smooth and elastic. Place the dough into a greased bowl, and cover. Set in a warm place to rise until double. Dough is ready if you touch it, and the indention remains.

4. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, and gently roll out to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut dough into rounds with a 3-inch cutter, and then cut a hole in the center of each round with 1-inch cutter. Let doughnuts sit out to rise again until double. Cover loosely with a cloth.

5. Heat oil in a deep-fryer or large heavy skillet to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Slide doughnuts, 2 at a time, into the hot oil using a wide spatula. Turn doughnuts over as they rise to the surface. Fry doughnuts on each side until golden brown. Remove from hot oil, to drain on a wire rack.

6. Sprinkle doughnuts with cinnamon sugar or dip in glaze of your choice while still warm.

6 Comments

Filed under Dessert

6 responses to “Raised Doughnuts

  1. Katie

    what silly names have you come up with for your donuts? 🙂

  2. liz

    doughnuts are healthy. for the -soul-.

  3. Oh, dear me! What delicious donuts!

    How did your clothes like being next to dried seaweed and pollack? 🙂 I am Korean and I often travel with those in my suitcases whenever I visit my sisters in big cities.

  4. I would love to make these for my family! There’s something about them that feels fancy 🙂

  5. Sounds like me whenever I go back to school! I LOAD my car up with as much food as possible so I don’t have to spend so much money grocery shopping once I’m back. You got away with a lot of goodies!

  6. wow! i can’t believe you can make those – they look so professional!

Leave a Reply

