Hazelnut Cookies

I’m currently sitting in the kitchen (the only warm room in the house) trying to finish my grad school applications. I really wanted to have them completed by the end of 2010, but obviously that didn’t  happen because it’s already January 4th. I’ve made a lot of progress, but I’m stuck on my personal statement, which is still practically nonexistent. I’d MUCH rather write about baking than why I want to be a speech pathologist. 🙂

So I decided to take a little break and compile a list of New Year’s Resolutions. I haven’t made a list in ages, but I thought it’d be fun to start it up again. Initially, I came up with a super long list, but I didn’t want to bore you by detailing my resolutions about increasing my Bible reading and improving my workout routine, so I decided to just share the ones related to baking . 🙂

1. Bake another wedding cake!

2. Attempt to make impeccably beautiful macarons. Check out these gorgeous macarons by Helene of Tartelette. They will make you swoon!

3. Make sure that at least 25% of the things I bake are “healthy.” (i.e.  more whole grains, protein, and fiber; less fat and sugar).

4. Improve my horrible photography skills, so the pictures I post on this blog actually look appetizing.

5. Learn how to decorate cookies like Bridget from Bake at 350. Hah, who am I kidding? I’d be lucky to have a hundreth of her talent!

I wanted to start off the year by baking something wholesome and nutritious, but this recipe for Hazelnut Cookies won me over. Hazelnuts are my favorite type of nut, and I can’t resist them in any way, shape, or form!

Hazelnut Cookies

Source: adapted from Smitten Kitchen, originally from Gourmet

Ingredients

  • 1 almost-full cup (4 ounces) hazelnuts, toasted, skinned and cooled
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon all purpose flour (or 2/3 cup matzo cake meal)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1 large egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • chocolate chips (optional)

Directions

1. Pulse hazelnuts, sugar, flour, and salt in a food processor until finely ground. (Be careful not to grind to a paste).

2. Transfer to a bowl and stir in butter, egg, and extract until combined well. Chill dough in refrigerator, covered, for about 30 minutes.

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and position oven rack to middle position.

4. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place 1 inch apart on 2 ungreased baking sheets. Chill dough balls in refrigerator for about 10 minutes.

5. Press 3 chocolate chips into top of each ball of cookie dough.

6. Bake, 1 sheet at a time, until tops are pale golden and undersides are golden, 10-12 minutes. (It took 15 minutes in my oven). Be careful not to overbake.

7. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and cool completely.

10 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Dessert

10 responses to “Hazelnut Cookies

  1. These really look delicious. I have to try to make these. I took one look at your header image with all the delictable pictures and I immediately smiled. Whata great blog!

  2. Oh I wish I could bake and write all day instead of going to work. Let me know if you figure that one out 😉 Lovely pictures! You need to update your “About” section 🙂

  3. Hazelnut and chocolate… just like my favorite, Nutella!

  4. Mmmm these look so delicious! I love when you can use ground nuts in cookies, it makes them so buttery!

    xxoo

  5. Oh I wish I could have that for dessert right now!

  6. Your cookies are so cute! I wonder if I could sub in almonds instead of hazelnuts? i happen to have a ton of them. I love the idea of naking-related goals for the year.

  7. I’m with you on baking healthier in the new year, and this recipe sounds like it fits the bill. Boy, do I love hazelnuts… mmm, and chocolate. Happy New Year!

  8. Mmm….sounds great-I’ve never had that kind of cookie! G’luck w/applications I know they are a pain!

  9. These looks great… I love anything hazelnut!!

Leave a Reply

