Dreamy Cream Scones

I had the loveliest time yesterday afternoon seeing old friends at the new Gelato and Yogurt Lounge across the street from our high school. After months of being apart, it was so nice catching up with Katie, the burgeoning world traveler; Emily, who just finished her undergraduate career (congrats!); and Angelina, the only person I know who loves Julie Andrews and drinks more tea than I do. 🙂

During winter and summer breaks, when we’re all back in Portland, my high school friends and I always get together and talk for hours over numerous cups of tea and delectable treats. I love tea, and I absolutely adore sweets, so obviously I really enjoy our tea parties! Actually, I may be a little obsessed with them. 🙂 Sometimes I dream about having high tea at Harrods in London. Maybe one day? 🙂

I also really like hosting our tea parties because it gives me another excuse to bake! I am FAR from being the perfect tea party hostess, but it’s always so much fun making a variety of treats and trying make them look pretty as well. 🙂 Some of my favorite foods to serve are cute little tea sandwiches, fruit tarts, shortbread cookies, cream puffs, and scones, which are a tea party essential, in my opinion!

I’ve probably made a million different types of scones, so I can’t believe that I haven’t posted a single recipe for scones on this blog! I never had a “go to” recipe for scones because each recipe I tried was more wonderful than the previous one, but I think I have finally settled on these Dreamy Cream Scones that I found on Smitten Kitchen. The scones really are dreamy – soft, light, and flaky with the perfect amount of sweetness.

I’ve yet to make these cream scones for a tea party, but I’ve already made them twice for breakfast, and both times, they seriously made my morning. Having one of these scones with a cup of tea or coffee is pure bliss, and they are SO good that I will forgo my usual healthy whole grain breakfasts in an instant! 🙂

Dreamy Cream Scones

Source: adapted from Smitten Kitchen, originally from America’s Test Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons chilled, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries (or cranberries, cherries, etc.)
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Directions

1.  Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2. Place flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in bowl of food processor fitted with a steel blade. Pulse six times.

3. Remove cover and distribute butter evenly over dry ingredients. Cover and pulse 12 times, each pulse lasting 1 second. Add dried blueberries and pulse one more time.

4. Transfer dough to a large bowl. Stir in heavy cream with a rubber spatula or fork until a dough begins to form, about 30 seconds.

5. Transfer d0ugh to a lightly floured surface and knead by hand until it comes together into a rough, sticky ball, about 5-10 seconds. Form scones by patting dough into an 8-inch circle and cutting into 8 wedges with a knife or bench scraper.

6. Place wedges on an ungreased baking sheet and bake in preheated oven until scone tops are light brown, 12-15 minutes. Cool on wire rack for at least 10 minutes before serving.

8 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert, Scones

8 responses to “Dreamy Cream Scones

  1. Princess

    OMG!!!!
    I want to eat these!!!! 🙂
    Can’t wait until you make them back at school~~~
    haha ;P

  2. liz

    *raises hand* i can attest to the deliciousness of these scones.

  3. I’ve made these as well and they’re so good! Love them 🙂

  4. crustabakes

    A breakfast material fit for the kings! These look delish!

  5. Pingback: Green Tea Butterball Cookies | Blissful Baking

  6. I just wrote this recipe down so I can make it while we’re away on a ski trip 🙂 So easy and sounds delicious.. I love scones!

  7. Pingback: Mini Orange Ginger Scones | Blissful Baking

  8. Pingback: Orange Ginger Date Bites | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

