Korean Sweet Red Bean Porridge

It’s FINALLY starting to get cold here in Cleveland. The weather has been really strange this year. Up until the middle of last week, it was really warm for late November – the temperature was in the 50s! But now it’s nice and frigid, and we’ve even been getting some snow! I always love the first snow of the season. So pretty!

 The cold weather has been making me crave soup. When I was growing up, my mom would make HUGE pots of chicken noodle or vegetable beef soup  during the winter that my family would eat as breakfast for a few days. It’s not your typical breakfast fare, but having a bowl of delicious, warm soup was a lovely way to start off a chilly winter morning.

Since we had ZERO food in the suite last week, the only soup I could have made would have consisted of water and onions. Um yeah, not so appetizing. But as I was rummaging through our bare cupboards, I found a bag of dry sweet red beans (also known as adzuki beans), which made me really, really happy because it meant I could make dan paht jook!

Dan paht jook, or Korean Sweet Red Bean Porridge is the perfect winter soup, and it’s sweet, which is totally my kind of thing. Also, it requires very few other ingredients than the adzukis, the same kind of beans in the sweet red bean paste I used to make the Pumpkin Brioche Red Bean Buns and Red Bean Mochi Cake.

I hadn’t had sweet red bean porridge in AGES, so I was really hoping that it would turn out well, and it did! Because it had been so long since I last had dan paht jook, I wasn’t even sure if I remembered what it was supposed to taste like. So I just adjusted the flavor of the soup with honey, cinnamon, and salt until my taste buds were happy. 🙂

Dan paht jook is really wonderful comfort food, and eating it for my breafasts last week totally reminded me of home. Although I don’t love it as much as I love hobak jook, it is a close second! 🙂

Korean Sweet Red Bean Porridge

Source: an original

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry sweet red (adzuki) beans
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup sweet rice flour (mochiko)
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons boiling water
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup honey
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

1. Soak sweet red beans in water overnight.

2. Drain beans and place in a pot with 4 cups of water and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to low, cover pot, and simmer for one hour.

3. Meanwhile, combine 1/2 cup sweet rice flour and a pinch of salt in a small bowl. Add 3 tablespoons of boiling water and mixwith a spoon. When cool enough to handle, knead with your hand until a dough forms. Wrap with plastic wrap and set aside for about 20 minutes.

4. Pinch off a small piece of dough, a little larger than a soybean, and roll it into a ball. Repeat with remaining dough. Keep the dough wrapped while making the rice balls to prevent it from drying out.
5. When beans are fully cooked, place them in a food processor with any remaining water and process for 1-2 minutes, until smooth.

6. Scoop pureed beans back into pot and add 1 cup water (you can add more or less depending on your preferred consistency). When mixture boils, add rice cake balls and cook for a few more minutes. Stir frequently to prevent rice cakes from sticking to bottom of pot. Rice cakes are done when they float to surface of porridge.

7. Remove porridge from heat; stir in honey, cinnamon, and salt.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

3 responses to “Korean Sweet Red Bean Porridge

  1. Oh I’ve never heard of this before – looks good!

  2. I love coming up with something out of seemingly nothing! Well done 🙂
    It’s been crazy cold in Boston too – I was in denial but finally had to break out the gloves and hat yesterday. Booo

  3. I think soup is the perfect breakfast for winter mornings! I dont really understand why so many people thing breakfast has to be sweet and carb-y (not that I dont LIKE sweet carby things!).
    Ive been looking for some things to do with my adzuki beans, so this sounds great!

Leave a Reply

