Chocolate Hazelnut Kahlua Balls

My suitemates and I haven’t been grocery shopping in quite a while, so our kitchen is pretty much depleted of food. Our refrigerator is nearly empty – the only contents are some condiments and an unfinished bottle of wine. We have no eggs, meat, milk, bread, or produce. The only vegetables we have are onions, and we have been getting our daily fruit servings by eating dried cranberries and blueberries.

Our diet for the last few days has been quite sad (minimal whole grains, fruits, and veggies, and LOTS of eating out), but what bothers me the most about our low food supply is my inability to bake. It’s pretty hard to make anything without eggs or dairy products, so my baking options are severely limited.  But yesterday marked one whole year of togetherness with the boyfriend, so I had to make something for the occasion!

When the boyfriend and I made it official last year, there was a bottle of Kahlua involved, so I wanted to include it in a dessert. Although I often occasionally add a spoonful of Kahlua to my cup of coffee or glass of milk, I’ve never baked with it before. My first choice was a chocolate Kahlua cheesecake, but due to a lack of ingredients, I opted to make chocolate balls with Kahlua and hazelnuts instead.

I had planned on giving them to the boyfriend when we got back from our date night, but I totally forgot! Maybe it’s because we shared THREE desserts after dinner, so we were kind of overloaded with sugar. But I did sample one earlier in the day, and it was a wonderful chocolatey delight! I’m already planning to make many variations of this recipe with different types of chocolate, nuts, cookies, and alcohol. Doesn’t a chocolate and red wine version sound absolutely divine? 🙂

Chocolate Hazelnut Kahlua Balls

Source: adapted from Food

Ingredients

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1/2 cup Kahlua
  • 2 1/2 cups finely crushed vanilla wafer cookies (I used graham cracker crumbs)
  • 1 1/2 cups hazelnuts, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar, for coating

Directions

1. Stir chocolate chips over simmering water in a double boiler until melted and smooth. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar and corn syrup, then Kahlua.

2. In a small bowl, combine the chopped hazelnuts and crushed wafers; add in the chocolate mixture and mix thoroughly.

3. Roll the mixture into 1 inch balls.

4.  Place confectioner’s sugar in a shallow bowl. Roll each ball in confectioner’s sugar to coat.

5. Place balls in an air-tight container and chill overnight.

7 Comments

Filed under Dessert

7 responses to “Chocolate Hazelnut Kahlua Balls

  1. Oh what a great combination all rolled up!

  2. sounds delicious! I’ve actually never had kahlua before, can you believe it? 🙂

  3. HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHHAHAHAAHHAHAH!
    Kahlua involved…. 😀

  4. Yes please! Any dessert with kahlua gets an A+ in my book.

  5. Wow these look amazing! Thanks so much for sharing

    xo

  6. Oh wow…. kahluaaaaaa!!! Looks heavenly!

  7. sound fantastic! can’t wait to roll me some chocolate balls!

    hagarita.com

Leave a Reply

