White Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles

Since starting this blog about two months ago, 9 out of the 27 recipes that I’ve posted have been pumpkin recipes. That’s one-third! I’m sure you’re all sick of seeing so many pumpkin recipes all over food blogs by now, but I have one more to share (although I can’t promise it’ll be the last!). I know Thanksgiving is over, but I actually made these truffles before the holiday and haven’t had a chance to post about them until now.

I had one cup of pumpkin puree left over, which is the exact amount I needed to make pumpkin bread, my favorite quick bread in the whole entire world. I would choose pumpkin bread over the popular banana or zucchini breads any day. Last fall, I was so obsessed with pumpkin bread that I made a loaf nearly every week and practically subsisted on it alone. But sadly, we were running low on eggs this week, so I couldn’t make my beloved pumpkin bread.

As I was sitting in my “Eating and the Brain” psychology seminar on Monday, wondering what I could make with my leftover pumpkin puree, I had a sudden inspiration. One of my classmates was giving a presentation, and on one of her powerpoint slides was a picture of a box of chocolate truffles. I had a sudden intense craving for some chocolate, and then I had an epiphany – I would make Thanksgiving themed truffles!

The next day, two of my classes were cancelled (yayy!), so I spent the afternoon creating my pumpkin truffles. Pumpkin puree is rather watery, so I cooked it a bit to make it easier to roll into balls. Then I mixed in some graham cracker crumbs, powdered sugar, and spices. At the last minute, I decided to add some butterscotch chips for more flavor. Then I rolled the mixture into balls, and coated them in white chocolate.

My truffles weren’t especially cute-looking, but they tasted great! They’re different from your typical truffles that are made with chocolate ganache, but no less delicious. The boyfriend didn’t like these too much, though. He thought they were too spicy. But I didn’t mind too much because it meant that there were more for me! 🙂

White Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles

Source: an original

Ingredients

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • ½ cup graham cracker crumbs
  • ½ cup butterscotch chips
  • ¼ cup confectioners’ sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • graham cracker crumbs or cinnamon sugar, for sprinkling

 Directions

1. In a small saucepan over medium heat, cook pumpkin puree, stirring frequently until most of water evaporates, about 25 minutes. (You should be left with a heaping half cup of thick pumpkin puree). Set aside.

2. In a small bowl, melt butterscotch chips in microwave, about 1 minute. In a large bowl, combine melted butterscotch chips with reduced pumpkin puree, graham cracker crumbs, confectioners’ sugar, and spices. Mix thoroughly. Chill mixture in refrigerator for 30 minutes.

3. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. Remove pumpkin mixture from refrigerator and roll into 1-inch balls.

4. In a double boiler, melt white chocolate chips. Roll pumpkin balls in melted white chocolate, then lift with a fork onto parchment-lined baking sheet. Sprinkle tops of truffles with graham cracker crumbs or cinnamon sugar.

5. Chill truffles in refrigerator for about 2 hours, until chocolate is firm.

4 Comments

Filed under Dessert

4 responses to “White Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles

  1. Oh my gosh, I’ve always wanted to try making truffles but have been too scared – looks like you did a perfect job!

  2. I will never be sick of pumpkin recipes, and this one sounds fantastic! I’m with you regarding pumpkin bread… I could eat it year-round. I could also eat these truffles year-round :).

  3. wow! How fabulous are these! I definitely might have to give them a try. Thanks so much for sharing!

    xo

  4. I NEED to make these! Holy Yum-O!

Leave a Reply

