Red Bean Mochi Cake

One of the things I look forward to most about my birthday is being able to eat delicious cake. When I was growing up, my mom always baked my birthday cake. For the past few years, though, I’ve had storebought cakes, courtesy of lovely friends. I truly appreciate their thoughtfulness, but after years of eating my mom’s fabulous homemade creations, I have become picky about cake. 

Last year, a huge group of friends surprised me on my 21st birthday with a stand mixer and a cake from the local grocery store. I was delighted by the mixer, but the cake left something to be desired. It was tasteless yellow cake with a super thick layer of overly sweet frosting. Half of it was left uneaten, so we ended up completely destroying it with some plastic spoons. Below are the remains of my unfortunate cake.

It was a good thing that I’d already had amazing chocolate fondue earlier that evening, or I might have cried. This year, I was determined not to be disappointed with my birthday dessert, so I decided to make my own. But instead of a typical American birthday cake, I wanted to make a mochi cake, which is somewhat similar to the dduk (traditional Korean rice cakes) that I love so much.

The  red bean mochi cake is slightly sweet and has the characteristic chewiness of dduk that makes it so incredibly good. It does not have a light and spongy texture, but rather it is dense and sticky. I love this mochi cake; I can eat piece after piece with no end in sight. My suitemates loved it, and the boyfriend inhaled 3 pieces in about 20 seconds. If you’ve never had a mochi cake before, try it ASAP. You’ll fall in love – the sweet red bean flavor and addictive chewiness are impossible to resist 🙂

Red Bean Mochi Cake

Source: adapted from Tiny Urban Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. sweet/glutinous rice flour (Mochiko)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups nonfat milk
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup adzuki (sweet red bean) paste

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and generously grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans, or one 13×9 inch baking pan.

2. In a large bowl, mix sweet rice flour, eggs, vegetable oil, milk, and sugar until smooth. Stir in red bean paste.

3. Pour mixture into prepared loaf pans and bake in preheated oven for 45-60 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

4. Cool to room temperature before cutting into slices and serving.

9 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Rice Cakes

9 responses to “Red Bean Mochi Cake

  1. hanjoon

    happy birthday to you, the blissful baker! 🙂

  2. oh wow! I’ve never seen this before -it looks great!

  3. Beth

    Happy birthday. I have to admit that white birthday is a weakness of mine. I love it. Maybe your recipe will change my mind. Thanks for sharing.

    Plan B

  4. red bean cake seems kind of funny, but when i was in China they seemed to put red bean paste in so many things. I do love birthday cake though!

  5. Happy belated birthday! The red bean cake looks very interesting.. I’d love to try it

  6. Chanmi :)

    i want these again!!!! I only had two T.T

  7. Pingback: Korean Sweet Red Bean Porridge | Blissful Baking

  8. Pingback: Loaded Sweet Rice Cake | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

