Banana Walnut Whole Wheat Bread Pudding

The past week has been entirely delicious. I got to indulge in SO many fantastic desserts: pumpkin pecan and white chocolate caramel macadamia nut cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory, sour cream coffee cake and pecan sticky bun from The Stone Oven, chocolate espresso milkshake with Frangelico from B Spot, and pastries from my favorite coffee shop on campus.

All these treats made me deliciously happy, but going out for dessert so often resulted in a lot of uneaten groceries in our kitchen. Near the end of the week, I found myself with an abundance of stale bread. I thought about making bread crumbs or croutons, but wanted something a little sweeter (of course!). I  googled “what to do with stale bread” and one of the first things that popped up was bread pudding.

I’d actually never had bread pudding before, and the only time I’d ever seen it was in the campus dining hall, and it just look like a big soggy mess, so I never felt compelled to try it. But I saw a few pictures that made bread pudding look really good! I mean, bread cubes baked in a sweet, custard-like mixture and served with boozy cream sauce? What’s not to like? 🙂

Most bread pudding recipes call for French bread, heavy cream, and butter, but I wanted to make a healthier version that I could serve for breakfast, so I used whole wheat bread, nonfat milk, and applesauce instead. I also had some bananas sitting on the counter that were getting kind of brown, so I threw those into the mix too.

I made this on a weekday morning, and it was super easy. I literally put all the ingredients together and stuck it in the oven in less than ten minutes. While the bread pudding was baking, I had time to wash up, throw on some clothes, and make my hair look presentable. In less than half an hour, the kitchen smelled amazing, and breakfast was ready.

The bread pudding was  fabulous! I was a little skeptical about eating soggy bread, but it turned out to be really yummy. It was definitely a nice change from my cereal and milk, and a sweet way to start the day 🙂

Banana Walnut Whole Wheat Bread Pudding

Source: inspired by fANNEtastic food

Ingredients

  • 6 slices whole wheat bread
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups nonfat milk
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and lightly grease an 8×8 inch baking dish.

2. Toast the 6 slices of bread. Cut bread into bite-sized cubes and place in baking dish.

3. Cut 1/2 banana into thin slices and place evenly on top of bread cubes.

4. In a large bowl, mash remaining 1 1/2 bananas with a fork. Whisk in eggs, milk, applesauce, brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt until thoroughly combined. Pour mixture over bread cubes. Sprinkle walnuts on top.

 5. Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes.

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

9 responses to “Banana Walnut Whole Wheat Bread Pudding

  1. chanmi :)

    I heart our breakfast time 🙂

  2. This sounds SO good!! I am so excited to try it!!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  3. hanjoon

    i want to try this one..seems easy enough. soggy bread can taste good too?!

    ps. i almost wrote sauggy ..again

  4. Oh yum! that looks delicious – I love the mix of flavors and ingredients you used!

  5. I love love love bread pudding, this sounds great!

  6. Pingback: Ultimate Banana Bread | Blissful Baking

  7. Pingback: Cranberry Upside Down Muffins | Blissful Baking

  8. This is JUST the type of recipe I was looking for! Thank you so much for the link!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

