Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

My dad visited me in Cleveland this weekend, and we were so busy shopping and eating out that I had no time to bake. I think I went a total of 6 days without baking! Although we had plenty of sweets while he was here (Cheesecake Factory’s Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake! OMG!!), I didn’t bake any of the desserts we ate. As soon as my dad left for the airport, I literally ran into the kitchen to get a much needed baking fix.

Chanmi had requested (demanded) that I make Boston Cream Pie, so I decided to be nice and make it for her since her GRE was coming up in a couple of days. While looking for a recipe, I came across pictures of Boston Cream Pie cupcakes, and they were absolutely darling! Boston Cream Pies are not really pies anyway, so why not make them in cuter cupcake form?

Instead of using my favorite pastry cream recipe, I decided to make my own. I do not know what possessed me to do such a thing especially since there were perfectly good instructions for pastry cream included with the cupcake recipe (which I’ve included below). The pastry cream wasn’t BAD, but I definitely prefer the one I used to make Cream Puffs. So the next time I make these, I will be using that recipe.

Nevertheless, these cupcakes turned out great, and Chanmi was satisfied. She ate 3 of them by herself in one day! 🙂

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Source: adapted from Sugar Plum

Ingredients

For the cupcakes:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons meringue powder (I omitted this)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream (I used plain nonfat yogurt)

For the filling:

  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the ganache:

  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream (I used half-and-half)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (Don’t be like me and accidentally preheat to 375). Grease a 12 cup muffin pan or line with paper liners.

2. To make the cake, sift together flour, baking powder, meringue powder (if using), and salt. Set aside. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat together butter and sugar until creamy, about 2-3 minutes. Beat in eggs and vanilla until well combined, about 2 minutes. Beat in buttermilk and sour cream until combined, about 1 minute. With the mixer on low speed, beat in dry ingredients until just combined.

4. Divide batter evenly among 12 muffin cups. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes or until cupcakes are well risen and spring back when lightly pressed. Cool on wire racks.

5. To make the filling, whisk egg yolk in a small bowl. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine cream, corn starch, sugar, and salt, whisking continuously until mixture is hot. Slowly pour half of the hot mixture into the egg yolk, whisking constantly. Add egg yolk mixture to saucepan with remaining cream. Cook for 1-2 minutes, whisking constantly, until thickened or until mixture coats the back of a spoon. Strain filling through a fine mesh sieve set over a medium bowl, and whisk in butter and vanilla. Chill pastry cream over an ice bath, in refrigerator, until it reaches room temperature.

6. To make the ganache, stir together chocolate and cream in a small bowl. Microwave mixture for 1 minute, stirring every 20 seconds, until melted and smooth.

7. To assemble the cupcakes, cut each in half horizontally using a serrated knife. Sandwich 1-2 tablespoons of pastry cream between the two halves, and then spread tops with ganache. Alternatively, cut a hole in the center of each cupcake, place a spoonful of pastry cream in the hole, and then cover with chocolate ganache.

4 Comments

Filed under Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

4 responses to “Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

  1. wow! this is so impressive! They look great!

  2. chanmi :)

    LOVED THEM!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. hanjoon

    mmmmmm def one of your best, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

