Green Tea Ice Cream

I have a slight obsession with tea. It’s my next favorite thing after chocolate and ice cream and cookies, and other things of that sort. I used to drink 6-7 cups a day, but have since cut down because I realized consuming that much tea was just a little excessive. Tea is especially lovely when you have scones, shortbread, or other delectables to accompany it 🙂

I like all types of tea (except herbal, which is NOT real tea, by the way), but I think my all time favorite is green tea. It has such a light and delicate flavor, AND its good for you! I like it most in hot tea form, but it’s spectacular in desserts like cake and ice cream too.

I recently discovered that you can make ice cream without an ice cream maker! I got super excited and decided that I MUST make some green tea ice cream right away. I was a little worried that I would just end up with a green ice block, but after several hours in the freezer and lots of stirring, the mixture turned into real ice cream! The texture was totally creamy and smooth, the color was beautiful, and the green tea flavor was lovely.

I’m definitely going to make lots of different flavors (chocolate!!) of ice cream using this method. I know it’s not summer anymore, but really, ice cream is amazing any time of year 🙂

Green Tea Ice Cream

Source: adapted from Spoonful, originally from Harumi’s Japanese Home Cooking

Ingredients

  • 2 heaping tablespoons of matcha powder
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar, divided (the original recipe called for 2/3 cup, but 1/3 cup is plenty)
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream

Directions

1. Combine matcha powder and 1 tablespoons of the sugar in a small bowl.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg yolks and remaining sugar.

3. In a small saucepan, heat milk gently, taking care not to let it boil. Remove from heat and stir several spoonfuls of the warm milk with the matcha powder mixture. When a smooth paste forms, add it to the remaining milk in the pan, along with the egg yolk mixture.

4. Return the saucepan to the stove, and continue to stir over low heat (taking care not to let the mixture boil), until the mixture coats the back of a spoon. Remove from heat, strain through a fine sieve into a large container, and allow to cool completely.

5. Lightly whisk the heavy cream, then add it to the cooled green tea-milk mixture and mix thoroughly.

6. Put the lid on the container and chill in the refridgerator for about one hour. Then put it in the freezer for about 2 hours. Remove from freezer and stir vigorously to break up the ice crystals. Repeat this process a few times, about once every hour, as the ice cream freezes to ensure that it is smooth.

12 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Ice Cream

12 responses to “Green Tea Ice Cream

  1. Wow! I love this for the color if for nothing else. I’m not much of a green tea fan, but anything combined with ice cream is sure to be ridiculously good.

  2. oh what a fun flavor for ice cream!

  3. 🙂 time to go buy matcha powder.

  4. i love green tea ice cream.. this is so lovely. thank you for sharing this.

  5. Your ice cream sounds divine. I heart green tea myself…waay over chocolate and probably over ice cream too.

  6. Great color! I love red rooibos tea — I look forward to it every morning.

  7. I’m a huge green tea fan too! The ice-cream looks fab!

  8. Bo

    Green tea is my favorite too…I’ve tried green tea ice cream, but I just didn’t care for it. I love the color of yours.

  9. Pingback: Dreamy Cream Scones | Blissful Baking

  10. Pingback: Cappuccino Cookies with Espresso and White Chocolate | Blissful Baking

  11. Pingback: Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

