Pumpkin Roll

I know I’ve already declared my undying love for chocolate and sweets and breakfast on this blog, but I have to add something else to the list: pumpkin. Pumpkin reminds me of fall, my favorite season, and it is  fantastic in desserts. I love pumpkin anything – soups, lattes, pies, cakes, cookies, muffins, etc. It’s so delicious, and it pairs well with other flavors like cinnamon,  chocolate, cream cheese, pecan, butterscotch, and cranberry.

I had some pumpkin gelato (delish!) last weekend at Presti’s, my favorite Italian bakery, and it made me crave even more pumpkin! I realized that it’s already been fall for a couple of weeks, and I have yet to bake anything with pumpkin! So I decided to make one of my favorite pumpkin desserts, a pumpkin roll.

I love pumpkin rolls because they look more impressive than your average coffee cake, but they’re actually really easy to make! Usually I just make a plain cream cheese filling, but I had some caramel left over from making the Caramel Apple Cheesecake Pie, so I decided to add it to the filling. It turned out lovely! My suitemates and I devoured this roll – we each had two slices after dinner 🙂

Pumpkin Roll with Caramel Cream Cheese Filling

Source: adapted from Joy of Baking

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 3/4 cup (100 grams) all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup (200 grams) granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup (150 grams) pumpkin puree

For the filling:

  • 8 ounces (226 grams) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons (28 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (60 grams) confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup caramel

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line a 15×10 inch baking baking pan with parchment paper, and spray parchment paper with cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt.

3. In a separate bowl, beat eggs and sugar with an electric mixer for about 5 minutes, or until thick, pale yellow, and fluffy. Beat in vanilla extract and pumpkin puree. Gently fold in sifted flour mixture. Pour batter into prepared baking pan, and spread evenly with an offset spatula or knife.

4. Bake for about 13-15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean and cake, when lightly pressed, springs back. Immediately invert the cake onto a clean dish towel that has been sprinkled with confectioners’ sugar. Peel off the parchment paper, and roll up the cake with the towel. Transfer roll to a wire rack to cool.

5. While cake is cooling, beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Add confectioners’ sugar and caramel and beat until smooth.

6. When cake is cool, unroll and spread with caramel cream cheese filling, then reroll. Transfer pumpkin roll to serving platter, then cover and chill for a few hours or overnight. Sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar before serving.

8 Comments

Filed under Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

8 responses to “Pumpkin Roll

  1. oh my gosh, that looks amazing and perfect for fall – nice work!

  2. hanjoon

    i like rollcakes…:)

  3. crustabakes

    Wow, thats some rolling skills u got there! and its not an average roll, its a pumpkin roll. Very nice!

  4. Princess

    These were absolutely the BEST pumpkin rolls EVER! 🙂
    LIKE LIKE LIKE!

  5. Looks so very pretty and yummy,the spices sound good too. Yumm…

  6. chanmi :)

    SOOOOOO GOOOOOOD!!! i liked it cold ^^

  7. Mmmm, sounds so good! I love all of the pumpkin recipes I’ve been finding :)! This looks great!

  8. I am so making this. My jaw dropped.

Leave a Reply

