Pumpkin Cranberry Apple Baked Oatmeal

 

I heart breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day. Maybe it’s because so many breakfast foods are delightfully sweet and dessert-like, such as cinnamon rolls or French toast. Or maybe it’s because you can get away with eating so many desserts for breakfast, like coffee cake or crepes. Whatever the reason, I love, love, love breakfast, and I never, ever skip it. 
 
Usually, though, my  healthy (and lazy) side wins, and I just have a bowl of cereal (my favorite brands are Kashi and Nature’s Path) and unsweetened soy milk with a piece of fruit in the morning. Occasionally, I’ll change it up with yogurt and granola or toast with almond butter, but I don’t normally having anything much fancier than that.

Yesterday morning, though, I had a little extra time before class, so I decided to make something a little more special to start off my day. I’d seen several recipes for baked oatmeal recently, and I was intrigued since I love both oatmeal and baking, but had only tried the stovetop and instant microwave versions before.

After taking forever to decide on a recipe (as usual), I finally settled on one that includes wheat germ (yay fiber!), pumpkin puree, dried cranberries, and chopped apples. The baked oatmeal was lovely! It doesn’t have a porridge consistency like stovetop oatmeal; it’s more like cake with lots of oaty goodness.  A perfect fall breakfast 🙂

Pumpkin Cranberry Apple Baked Oatmeal

Source: adapted from My Kitchen Addiction, originally from Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients

  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened soy milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 medium apple, chopped (skin on)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and spray an 8×8 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, wheat germ, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk, pumpkin puree, melted butter, egg, and vanilla extract until smooth.

4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and stir to combine. Fold in the chopped apples and dried cranberries.

5. Spread the mixture evenly in the prepared baking dish and bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until oatmeal is set and golden on top. Serve warm. If desired, add a splash of milk, or other toppings such as honey, nuts, fruit, etc.

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

7 responses to “Pumpkin Cranberry Apple Baked Oatmeal

  1. what a great oatmeal combination!

  2. I just put baked oatmeal on my blog today!! This sounds amazingly irresistible! I just ran into you on For the Love of Cooking! I’m glad I did…we have similar tastes. 🙂

    Blessings!

    I cook @http://adorkablerecipes.blogspot.com/

  3. hanjoon

    oh i wish i could wake up for breakfast every morning too..and eat gookbab!

  4. breakfast foods should always be high in carbohydrates to provide the energy you need in the mornign _

  5. Pingback: Cranberry Upside Down Muffins | Blissful Baking

  6. Pingback: Cranberry Upside Down Muffins | Blissful Baking

  7. Pingback: Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

