Chocolate Banana Bread

It’s Hump Day, and it definitely feels like it. I just started working at the pool again on Monday, teaching both morning and evening lessons, and lifeguarding in between. Even though I’ve only worked two days so far, I’m already exhausted. Only 38 more days of work to go!

Since I’ve been at work all day, I haven’t had time for baking. When I get home, all I want to do is eat and sleep! I’d love to bake a batch of snickerdoodle blondies or chocolate chip cookies to pack in my lunches (sweet treats are NECESSARY for long days at the pool), but I just don’t have the energy.

Luckily I made a few mini loaves of this awesome chocolate banana bread on Sunday, which I’ve been snacking on during my breaks at work. I altered the recipe to make the bread a bit lighter, and it was still so yummy!

Classic banana bread has always been one of my favorite quick breads (only second to pumpkin bread), but this version blows it out of the water! I mean, what isn’t better with chocolate? :)

Chocolate Banana Bread

Source: adapted from Savory Sweet Life

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 medium ripe bananas
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray a 9×5 inch loaf pan with cooking spray.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. 

3. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg, bananas, vanilla, and yogurt until combined. Add in flour mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

4. Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake in preheated oven for 50-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of loaf comes out clean.

5. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely on wire rack.

17 Comments

Filed under Bread, Dessert

17 responses to “Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Oh yummy! I adore banana bread so chocolate would be a nice addition :D

  2. hanjoon

    UPDATE :)

  3. I need to try adding chocolate to my boring ol’ banana bread. Great idea and thanks :)

  4. oh this is one of the best combinations!

  5. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    This sound amazing. You can’t go wrong with banana bread and chocolate. :)

  6. Wow, I’ll have to give this a try! It looks great! I love that it’s low-fat.

  7. Mmmm, chocolate banana bread – yes please!

  8. yum! this is definitely the perfect thing to munch on any time of day!

  9. Kammie

    Yum, this looks wonderful. I love me some choc banana bread

  10. A banana cake together with chocolate is much more yummier!

  11. I love banana bread and the addition of chocolate is always welcomed!

  12. yum! i made chia banana bread the other day; should’ve added chocolate!

  13. oh that sounds so delicious! choc and bananas! yummo!

  14. Your banana bread looks very yummy! Chocolate and bananas is a delicious combination.

  15. I love banana bread and the more chocolate the better. I’m always looking for something to do with my leftover bananas and this looks delish!

  16. Angelina tells me this is good stuff, first-hand experience. Oh, silly me–hello and introductions! I’m in Angelina’s program and when she saw me blogging in the middle of (erm) class, she told me about your blog, so that’s how I came to be here. Looks like fantastic stuff!

    • Aww, Angelina is one of my most loyal taste-testers and blog advertisers although I haven’t updated this blog in over a year (I still LOVE to bake any chance I get though)! Nice to “meet” you and glad you stopped by! I will trying out some of your recipes for sure – the pumpkin cinnamon pull-apart bread looks TO DIE FOR!

Leave a Reply

