Avocado Pound Cake

I think I was in elementary school when I fell in love with avocados. I remember that my mom would sometimes place a handful of almonds and a few slices of avocado on my breakfast plate of toast and fruit. I guess she wanted to make sure I had enough monounsaturated fats in my diet? Whatever the reason, I’ve been hooked on the creamy green fruit since.

Avocados are an amazing addition to salads, sandwiches, and sushi rolls, but my most favorite way to eat avocado (at least up until this past Thursday afternoon) is in guacamole. Obviously homemade is the best, but Chipotle’s guac is pretty good too, especially when avocados are like five dollars apiece at the grocery store during the winter.

But on Thursday afternoon, I discovered that my new favorite way to eat avocado is in pound cake! I know that sounds totally weird and gross, but trust me when I say it’s not! It’s actually pretty spectacular. The cake is  moist and dense, but not overly sweet and buttery. And the cornmeal gives it an awesome texture. I am not a huge fan of pound cake, but I really, really like this one!

Next time I make this, I’ll probably replace some of the butter with even MORE avocado. And hopefully it won’t have those ugly tiger stripe burn marks on top from being baked in a cramped toaster oven!

Avocado Pound Cake

Source: adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup avocado, mashed (about 1 ripe avocado)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease and flour one 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 – inch loaf pan.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Set aside.

3. In bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter on medium speed until smooth. Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add avocado and beat for another minute to incorporate, scraping down sides of bowl to ensure that ingredients are thoroughly mixed.

4. Add in eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute after addition of each egg. Beat in vanilla extract.

5. Reduce mixer speed to low and add half of flour mixture, all of Greek yogurt, then rest of flour mixture. Beat until just combined.

6. Scrape batter into prepared pan and bake in preheated oven for 40-50 minutes, or until skewer inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Check cake every 10 minutes after 30-minute mark. Cool cake in pan for 10 minutes, then invert on wire rack to cool completely.

5 Comments

Filed under Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

5 responses to “Avocado Pound Cake

  1. liz

    if there can be avocado margaritas and avocado ice cream, i can see no reason for a lack of avocado pound cake. as long as it isn’t avocado wine… ><

  2. Oh my…I really want to make this. I have kind of a crush on avocado

  3. now that’s an interesting use for Avs…. looking forward to when these are in season. I like Guac I make myself but if restaurants have salsa or weird peppers in it I don’t like it. I prefer to make my own so I can control the contents more. I can’t believe you made that in a toaster oven, did I read that right?
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  4. wow! I would never think to use an avocado in baking – this looks great!

  5. Pingback: Black Bean Brownies | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

