Chocolate Pudding Cake

The most horrible, unimaginable thing happened yesterday. The oven STOPPED WORKING. As I was gathering the ingredients to make homemade granola bars, I set the oven to preheat. Over half an hour later, there was still no beep to signal that the oven was fully preheated, so I went to check on it and  found that it wasn’t warm at all! I reset the oven and tried to preheat it again, but the oven didn’t warm up in the slightest.

I almost panicked. How on earth was I going to bake without a working oven?? I had already measured out the raw oats and chopped up the nuts for granola bars. Also, I had promised my sister (who had a SERIOUS chocolate craving) that I would bake the most amazing chocolate pudding cake for dessert. Luckily, my mom reminded me that I could use our little toaster oven to toast the oats and nuts for the granola bars. And I was delighted to discover that the toaster oven was just large enough to fit an 8×8 inch pan for the cake.

So I mixed up the cake batter, poured hot coffee all over it, and waited for 25 agonizing minutes for it to finish baking. My sister and I dug in while the cake was still hot and almost died and went to chocolate lovers heaven. The warm pudding sauce is beyond words. It’s the perfect thing to make you forget about surviving the summer at home with a non-functional oven (at least for a moment!).

Chocolate Pudding Cake

Source: slightly adapted from Joy of Baking

Ingredients

For the pudding sauce:

  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 1 tablespoon instant coffee
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
For the cake:
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoons alt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease an 8×8 inch baking dish.
2. To make the pudding sauce, stir the instant coffee into the boiling water. In a separate bowl, stir together sugars and cocoa powder.
3. To make the cake, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder. In another large bowl, whisk together egg, melted butter, sugar, milk, and vanilla extract. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Fold in the chopped nuts.
4. Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Sprinkle the cocoa mixture on top of cake batter. Gently pour coffee over the cocoa mixture.
5. Bake in preheated oven for about 25 minutes, or until the cake is puffed and just beginning to pull away from sides of pan. Place on wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.
2 Comments

Filed under Cakes/Cupcakes, Dessert

2 responses to “Chocolate Pudding Cake

  1. liz

    … yeeeah, that’s getting made when we’re back from camping. and i’m eating all of it.

  2. yum yum, I TRIED THIS! :)
    thanks justeen!

Leave a Reply

