Homemade Granola

For the past two days, I’ve been covered from head to toe in dust! But I am finally finished organizing, packing, and cleaning, and ready to head down to Charlottesville, VA in just a few minutes! My dad and I are visiting Charlottesville for a couple of days to look at apartments and put all of my stuff in storage. So excited!

I wanted to bring along some granola to munch on during the eight-hour drive, so I tried THREE different recipes. Maple Nut Granola and Coconut Almond Granola both tasted fantastic, but I wanted a granola with more clusters. I actually don’t mind loose granola for sprinkling on yogurt or smoothies, but it’s not ideal ideal for snacking on in the car.

I’ve made granola countless times in the past, but I’ve yet to make a super crunchy, super clumpy batch. I’ve experimented with different types and amounts of sweeteners, oils, fruit purees, grains, and nuts, but I never ended up with exactly what I was looking for.

But after a granola-making marathon yesterday, I discovered the secret to clumpy granola – egg whites! The egg whites act as a binder and help the granola stick together beautifully. This granola had LOTS of clusters and awesome crunch! It’s SO addicting! I ate handful after handful after handful. Good thing I made a double batch or there wouldn’t be any left for the car ride! :)

Homemade Granola

Source: adapted from Wicked Good Dinner

Ingredients

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used almonds)
  • 1/4 cup dried fruit
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine oats, nuts, and dried fruit. In a separate bowl, whisk together brown sugar, maple syrup, oil, egg whites, vanilla, and salt until smooth. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir, making sure all dry ingredients are well coated.

3. Pour mixture onto prepared baking sheet. Spread evenly and press down firmly into a thin, single layer with a spatula.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes until granola is golden brown and crisp around the edges. Allow to cool for 15 minutes on baking sheet before breaking into clusters. Store in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

5 responses to “Homemade Granola

  1. I’ve only made homemade granola once, but it was easy and delish. Yours looks great, I looove almonds.

  2. Love the ingredients for your granola, everything looks delicious. I’ve never made granola before!

  3. This looks so yummy! I love your variation on the recipe :-)
    -Dawn

  4. this looks PERFECT! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

