Maple Almond Butter Cookies

I feel like I always have a latest obsession, and this time, it’s nut butter. I’ve always liked it, but now I am seriously crazy about the stuff! I drizzle it on oatmeal, spread it on bread, blend it into smoothies, and I like to bake with it, too. But my most favorite way to enjoy nut butter is straight out of the jar with a spoon. :)

I grew up eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches practically every day, but my favorite of all nut butters is almond butter. The first time I tried it, I was still in elementary school, but I clearly remember the freshly ground almond butter being so warm and nutty and delicious. Then proceeding to eat huge globs of it on my afternoon snack of apple slices. :)

It was love at first taste, and since then I’ve been eating it almost daily. I’ve even made my own almond butter (and peanut butter and sunflower seed butter) in my food processor. You would think that I’d be sick of it by now, but if anything, I love it even more! Whenever I’m at the grocery store, I make a beeline for the nut butter shelves (after the baking aisle though, of course!).

I don’t know what it is about nut butter, but I can’t seem to get enough of it! And I don’t think my obsession is going to wear off anytime soon. This is going to make me sound like a total dork, but my goal is to try every single nut/seed butter out there by the end of this year – walnut, pecan, cashew, hazelnut etc., etc., etc.

When I was at Whole Foods last weekend, I picked up a pack of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter to sample, and I absolutely loved it! I made sure to squeeze every last drop out of the packet. :) The maple syrup and almond butter combo is a winner, and I had the PERFECT recipe to try it out in!

These maple almond butter cookies were really, REALLY good. Out of all the healthier cookie recipes that I’ve tried, these are definitely the best. I didn’t miss the lack of butter or sugar in the recipe at all! Plus, it’s the perfect excuse to eat cookies for breakfast! :)

Maple Almond Butter Cookies

Source: slightly adapted from Sweet and Natural

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup creamy almond butter
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a large bowl, combine almond butter, maple syrup, oil, vanilla extract and almond extract and mix well. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

3. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Fold in chopped almonds. Let sit for 5 minutes.

4. Roll heaping tablespoons of dough into balls and place on an ungreased baking sheet. Flatten slightly to about 1/3 of an inch. Bake in preheated oven for 8-10 minutes.

4 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Dessert

4 responses to “Maple Almond Butter Cookies

  1. I love how you made cookies with almond butter, they look delicious :)

  2. YES, that is the BEST Justin’s flavor! Cookies look/sound amazing!

  3. Yumm, definitely going to have to try these cookies.

Leave a Reply

