Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies

Happy Monday!! This is an especially happy Monday because it’s the last one of the semester. In just two days, I will be done with my last final, and completely done with undergrad! During the 1.5 weeks until graduation, I plan to sleep lots, bake all day and every day, and QUIT DRINKING SO MUCH COFFEE.

I’ve always been a tea drinker, but over the past year, I’ve become increasingly dependent on coffee. I typically drink a HUGE cup in the morning, a small cup at work, and a HUGE cup after dinner. And as if I wasn’t getting enough caffeine already, I supplement my execessive coffee intake by overdosing on tea. :)

I’m going to take baby steps, and start out by pouring myself a little less coffee each morning and having tea instead of coffee in the evenings. Then I’ll work on trying to cut my afternoon cup completely. I know I should probably reduce my tea intake too, but that’s going to be a little more difficult since I love the stuff so much! :)

Even though I have multiple cups of tea per day, I guess that’s not enough, because I love incorporating it in my desserts, too. I like it in my ice cream, cake, and cookies! The only tea that I’ve baked with so far is matcha (green tea) though, so yesterday I decided to use one of my other favorite teas – Earl Grey!

My friend Angelina mentioned something about Earl Grey shortbread a longgg time ago and it’s been in the back of my mind ever since. I finally decided to try them out last night, and they were even better than I had imagined! Crisp, delicate, and buttery, with just a hint of Earl Grey flavor. The most PERFECT shortbread cookies ever!

For maximum enjoyment, use cookie cutters to make the shortbread into fun shapes and have a nice big cup of Earl Grey tea on the side! :)

Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies

Source: Claire Robinson

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons loose Earl Grey tea leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

Directions

1. Combine flour, tea and salt in a food processor, and pulse until tea is just spotted throughout flour. Add confectioners’ sugar, vanilla, and butter, and pulse again until dough forms.

2. Place dough on a sheet of plastic wrap, and roll into a log about 2 1/2 inches in diameter. Cover tightly with the plastic wrap, and chill in refrigerator for 30 minutes.

3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

4. Slice log into 1/3-inch disks and place on prepared baking sheets, 2 inches apart. Bake in preheated oven for about 12 minutes, until edges are just brown. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack and cool to room temperature.

5 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Dessert

5 responses to “Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies

  1. The speckles are so pretty! Love earl grey to pieces. I’m actually drinking a mug right now :)

  2. I will have to try this one.. I have lots of early gray loose leaf to use up and it’s a fav of mine. Thanks to my mom ;-)
    One way I heard to really incorporate dried tea or flower flavors to use in baked goods was to melt it in with the butter.. let it steep in there for like 10 minutes then strain and store the flavored butter. May be worth a shot. If I try that I will let you know.
    Thanks for sharing, good luck with your final exam!
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  3. Yum! I love tea infused cookies, yours look great!

  4. I’ve never had a coffee with a tea infusion, looks tasty :)

  5. wow those look delicious!! props to Angelina for getting the idea in your mind :)

Leave a Reply

