Snickerdoodle Blondies

There’s less than one week left until Easter! I can’t believe I’ve made it this far without eating (almost) any sugar. I will admit, it hasn’t exactly been a cake walk. In the beginning, I was feeling motivated and cheerful despite not being able to indulge in some of my favorite treats. I baked a lot of naturally sweetened desserts, so I actually didn’t miss sugar too much.

But as the weeks pass by, it’s been getting harder and harder to stay committed and maintain a positive attitude. There are times when I feel like ripping out my hair because I want some sugar SO BAD. This usually happens when I’m feeling stressed out or upset, and I question why I even decided to give up sugar in the first place.  Not being able to have sugar when I want it most makes me an incredibly unpleasant person to be around.

And it’s not just sweets. Due to the added sugar, I can’t eat bread, granola bars, cold cereal, certain nut butters, certain dried fruit, ketchup, sriracha sauce, Dijon mustard, etc., etc., etc. It’s a pain trying to plan meals with no added sugar, and eating out is stressful too.

Miraculously, I’ve made it this far and there are just a few more days to go. The boyfriend, Ahra, and Deborah have all been so encouraging and patient with me during this time. They listen to me complain and deal with my irritable moods and try all the products of my (sometimes not so successful) sugar-free baking experiments. Basically, they are awesome. :)

I’m sure they’re pretty sick of all the oats, dates, bananas, and raisins by now, so I decided to bake them some nice and sugary snickerdoodle blondies, which they loved – especially Deborah. :) I can’t comment on the taste, but the cinnamon-y sweet smell was almost too much for me to resist!  I froze a couple of squares for myself to try once Lent is over and now I’m counting down the days until I can devour them!!

Snickerdoodle Blondies

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients

  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 cups brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking pan or line with parchment paper.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together butter and brown sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add in eggs one at a time, and then vanilla. Beat until thoroughly combined, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. With mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture and beat until just combined.

4. Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly with offset spatula. Combine granulated sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and sprinkle evenly over top of batter.

5. Bake for 25-30 minutes in preheated oven, until surface springs back when lightly pressed. Cool completely in pan before cutting. Store in an airtight container at room temperature.

9 Comments

Filed under Bars/Squares, Dessert

9 responses to “Snickerdoodle Blondies

  1. These look amazing! Less than one week and you will be in sugar heaven!

  2. Congrats on making it this far! Love the blondies :D

  3. oh these look delicious!

  4. I have the same issue with sugar! It’s like my drug!

  5. Deborah

    I love snickerdoodles <3
    haha it's so random plus a long time since i've been on your site but i just wanted to comment :)

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Bread | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

