Date Syrup

As a kid, I loved to eat brown sugar. Sometimes I’d scoop a little bit of the sugar into a bowl and eat it with a spoon. My mom would be horrified if she knew this, but what can I say? I loved sugar. I still do!

Although the thought of eating a bowl of brown sugar makes me feel sick now, I still have an unsatiable sweet tooth. Baking without added sweeteners has been quite a challenge, so that’s why I practically jumped for joy when I came across jars of date syrup at the Westside Market a couple of weeks ago.

A jar of date syrup was pretty pricey, though, so sadly, I didn’t bring it home with  me that day. But I couldn’t stop thinking about it! I turned to the Internet for a date syrup recipe, and was ecstatic to discover how easy it is to make at home. All you had to do was blend dates and water together. So easy!

And oh, SO delicious!! I wanted to pour myself a glass of the syrup and drink it! My homemade date syrup was not actually a very syrupy consistency – more like a runny puree – but it tasted AMAZING! I didn’t want a single drop of the precious date syrup to go to waste, so I licked my food processor clean with a rubber spatula. :)

I can’t wait to use the date syrup for baking!  I think it’d be excellent in muffins or quick bread. The date syrup would also be an awesome subsitute for honey or maple syrup. Try drizzling it on pancakes or even spreading some on toast with nut butter! I garnished my oatmeal raisin cookie vegan overnight oats with a couple of teaspoons of the date syrup this morning, and it was pure bliss! :)

Date Syrup

Source: adapted from ZOMTBakes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pitted dates
  • 1 3/4 cup water, divided

Directions

1. Combine dates and 1 cup water in a saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

2. Allow mixture to cool to room temperature, then transfer to a food processor. Blend until smooth. Add remaining 3/4 cup water and process again until smooth.

3. Transfer date syrup to an airtight container and store in refrigerator for up to 3 weeks.

9 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

9 responses to “Date Syrup

  1. Check out a Lebanese grocer if you want some inexpensive Date Syrup. It’s a pretty common ingredient in Lebanese baking and it’s not very expensive (because it’s not really marketed as a healthy alternative to anything).

  2. 2 ingredient recipe. That’s what I’m talking about ;)

  3. I’ve never seen anything like this – great idea!

  4. oh how genius of you to check the net!! as I was reading and you stated it was too expensive I was already craving date syrup!!..glad you found a recipe!!

    sweetlife

  5. Ahhh I used to eat brown sugar plain too! SO GOOD. And I’ve seen date syrup at the store before but it is so cool you made it yourself.
    P.S. THANK YOU for the words of encouragement on my last post !:)

  6. I’ve never heard of this but it sounds like a tasty and cheaper alternative to buying it at the store, good idea!

  7. anita

    If you think about it though, medjool dates are pretty pricey and then there are dishes to do, etc. AND the homemade just doesn’t have the thick, luxury of date syrup without water. What brand can you get at the store you mentioned, or can you get it online? It’s hard to come by everywhere.

    • Now that I think about it, it is definitely worth it to invest in a jar of date syrup! Dates are quite expensive, and you’re right, the store bought date syrup looks like it has a much better consistency. Next time, I’ll definitely just buy a jar :)

Leave a Reply

