Sweet Potato Carrot Bread

One of my favorite activities is grocery shopping. It might sound crazy, but I actually think it’s quite relaxing and stress relieving! It’s just so much to fun wander up and down the aisles, inspecting every single item on the shelves. I could probably spend hours browsing the baking aisle! :)

Luckily, Deborah and Ahra both share my love of grocery shopping. Our Friday night actually included trips to two different grocery stores! People are always amazed that we find so much joy in grocery shopping. :)

In addition to the two grocery stores, Deborah and I spent the afternoon at the Westside Market with some friends. While the others went to grab some food, Deborah and I immediately headed toward the produce stands. We literally squealed in excitement upon seeing all the fresh fruits and vegetables!

We came home loaded with spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, carrots, beets, tomatoes, mushrooms, apples, oranges, bananas, and more! I also got an awesome deal on sweet potatoes – four large ones for a dollar!

I roasted two of them on Saturday morning for a carrot bread baking experiment. The orginial recipe called for bananas, but I felt that the banana flavor would be overpowering, so I used pureed sweet potatoes instead. The sweet potatoes, along with some pureed dates, added a subtle sweetness to the carrot bread, which turned out to be super yummy.

The bread was slightly underbaked (oops!), but I actually didn’t mind the slightly gooey center. The boyfriend was not a fan though, so I toasted slices of the bread on a pan over low heat for a few minutes. This was the best decision EVER. The toasted carrot bread slices were out of this world!!

I definitely ate way more than I should have, but at least this bread is healthy! Made with whole wheat flour, no added sugar, and two veggies (both great sources of vitamin A)! Just don’t mind the stick of butter in the ingredients list. :)

Sweet Potato Carrot Bread

Source: adapted from 101 Cookbooks

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup pitted dates, finely chopped into a paste (I used my food processor)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated carrots
  • 1 1/4 cup sweet potato puree
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan and line it with parchment paper.

2. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.

3. Stir dates into melted butter, breaking up the dates pieces.

4. In a large bowl, combine grated carrots and sweet potato puree. Stir in date/butter mixture, breaking up any date clumps. Whisk in yogurt and eggs. Add the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

5. Scrape batter into prepared pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean.

14 Comments

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Dessert

14 responses to “Sweet Potato Carrot Bread

  1. June in Ireland who loves to bake

    Wow – this is an amazing market! We have farmers’ markets here in Ireland, but I’ve not seen anything (yet) to match this…except possibly in Dublin, on the very famous and historical Moore Street.

    I’m exactly the same way when it comes to grocery shopping. If my hubby’s not with me, I could easily spend an hour or two just checking out what’s on the shelves – and, like you, that’s especially true when it comes to the baking aisle or section. I find myself wanting to buy everything my eyes come in contact with, for future baking adventures (or experiments).

    What really makes me smile is when I’m in an ethnic grocery store, though. Especially and Asian/Indian or Middle Eastern shop. I love all the amazing looking labels on the jars, boxes, bottles, tins – the colours, the lettering, the design/packaging of them is so different to the ‘western’ style. Truly beautiful in many cases. And I love going over to where they keep their spices – sometimes an entire aisle devoted to spices and herbs – absolutely breathtaking and wonderful to all the senses, and definitely a feast for the eyes.

    Thanks for this bread recipe. I bake my own bread (I won’t go near store-bought bread – awful, chemical-laden rubbish most of the time) and am always on the lookout for trying out new recipes, with different ingredients. This one’s a beauty! Thanks for sharing, and for a lovely blog, too.

  2. liz

    i love big lots. i know, i know, it’s big lots, but where else can i get four 50-bag boxes of my favorite tea for $6? to say nothing of the absolutely random imports and manufacturer-overstocks that end up there… big lots is like a treasure hunt. now, if they just had a frozen food and produce section…

  3. I like grocery shopping too :)

    Also, I want to eat some sweet potato bread, yum! Do you think it will mail well to Africa? heehee

  4. sweet potato bread…i never would have thought :) looks delish

  5. I’m impressed you made it with no sugar. Great combination of flavors!

  6. Wow that bread looks amazing :)

  7. ohmygosh! toasting the carrot SP bread sounds out. of. this. world!!!! I have to get my hubs to bake me this!!! (I fail at baking.. big time!) I want to try it so bad! =)

    Just found your blog today! nice to meet ya! I’m so jealous that you are so awesome at baking!! =)

  8. grocery shopping should be categorized as a hobby – it’s definitely mine!! =)

  9. That looks really tasty!

    I love a good homemade bread:)

  10. Dan

    I actually made this yesterday morning following your recipe- it was actually the first time I’ve ever baked a cake/bread and the ingredients in this recipe got me going as I like the idea of wholemeal, no adde sugar and veges and I’m a very savoury person.
    I left out the dates, and not sure what I did incorrectly but mine stayed a bit gooey throughout beneath the crust- but it really reminded me of yam cakes I had in New Caledonia or that Irish potato bread so it was pretty exotic. I enjoyed it, finishing the loaf today, and will do it again. Thanks so much.

    • Hi Dan, I’m so glad that you enjoyed the bread! :) Mine was actually a little gooey in the center too, which I really liked. If you’d like a more bread-like texture though, I would try baking the loaf for a little longer, and maybe laying a sheet of foil on top if the top is getting too dark.

  11. Pingback: Zucchini Bread | Blissful Baking

  12. Chef Curry

    I baked this SWEET POTATO CARROT BREAD it is a horrible recipe. I baked it for the Correct time and the fork came out gooey baked it much longer and it stayed gooey throughout just beneath the crust. This is flop recipe. I wasted good ingredients and wasted my time.

    • Hi Chef Curry,

      I’m sorry you disliked this bread so much. I did mention in the post that the bread was under baked, and another commenter mentioned the same thing. I haven’t made this bread in years, but if I try again, I may reduce the amount of sweet potato puree in the recipe. This may help with the gooey factor.

Leave a Reply

