Oatmeal Snack Bars

Cutting out sugar from my diet has been MUCH easier than I originially anticipated. I thought I’d be going through severe sugar withdrawal and frantically searching the cupboards  for something sweet to snack on, but so far, I’ve been able to control my cravings pretty well. :)

Don’t get me wrong – I definitely miss eating dessert, and at times, I’d give anything to sink my teeth into one of the salted fudge brownies I have stashed in the freezer. And it takes an incredible amount of self-control for me to not eat a huge spoonful of batter when I’m baking a batch of blueberry muffins for my suitemates.

Also, because there is sugar in practically EVERYTHING, I’ve had to stay away from some of the foods that I use to eat on almost a daily basis. Since I can’t grab my usual almond butter and honey sandwich or Kashi granola bar, I had to find another on-the-go snack option.

Thankfully, I found this awesome recipe for oatmeal snack bars. They contain absolutely zero added sugar, but I didn’t miss it one bit! There was plenty of sweetness from the raisins, and lots of flavor from the oats, sunflower seeds, and cinnamon. Plus, they are super nutritious as they are full of fiber, protein, and healthy fats.

I threw one of these in my bag before I left for work this morning, and I enjoyed it for my afternoon snack. It was great – filling and delicious! I love the chewy texture. These oatmeal bars are so good that I’d even eat them for dessert!

Oatmeal Snack Bars

Source: adapted from Kath Eats

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup nonfat milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 3/4 cup raisins

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a 9×9 inch baking pan with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine oats, cinnamon, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk, applesauce, egg, and vanilla.

3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix well. Stir in sunflower seeds and walnuts.

4. Pour mixture into prepared baking pan and spread evenly. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes. Cool completely before cutting into bars or squares.

13 Comments

Filed under Bars/Squares

13 responses to “Oatmeal Snack Bars

  1. Those look so yummy! You make cutting out sugar look easy ;)

  2. I’d love to take a page out of your book, I tried to cut sugar cold turkey and my body flipped out. Now, I’m just using less sugar. It’s a start!

  3. Wow – that’s huge to cut out sugar. I look forward to seeing some more sugar free recipes.

  4. I gave up processed sugar for Lent, so this recipe is one I just have to try! Looks wonderful!

    I haven’t given up raw (unprocessed) sweeteners like honey, agave nectar, and coconut sap. But even though I haven’t given them up, I’m also using very little of those sweeteners.

    I can’t say it’s been really hard, although I did have a day where I had the shakes the entire day. Other than that, it hasn’t been bad. I’m thinking about giving up processed sugar permanently once Lent is over. We’ll see.

    Anyway, thanks so much for sharing the recipe! It’s sure to satisfy my sweet tooth! :)

  5. These bars look so healthy and fantastic. I have been trying to cut down my sugar intake and this is a great snack!

  6. Mmm these look so dense! I love basically anything oatmeal and these sound like a great on-the-go snack. I’m really interested in your no-sugar endeavor so please keep us updated ;)

  7. I love anything with oatmeal! Those bars look yummy! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Who knew cutting out sugar could be so easy! Good job and these snack bars look fantastic!

  9. YUM! These look INCREDIBLE! Nice work!

  10. Pingback: Baked Chocolate Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding | Blissful Baking

  11. Pingback: Quinoa Oatmeal Bars | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

