Loaded Sweet Rice Cake

Good morning! Today is an especially wonderful day because it is the start of spring break! I’m roadtripping  off to Boston with the boyfriend, Deborah, and Yoon in just a few minutes. Can’t wait! :)

I had three midterms and a paper due this week, but I still managed to squeeze in some time for baking. I wanted to make something quick, but also something healthy that I could snack on while studying, since I didn’t have much time for cooking.

After a quick search, I found a recipe for “energy dduk” (Korean-style rice cake). The ingredient list included seeds, nuts, dried fruit, and beans, which meant this rice cake was packed with carbs, protein, and fiber – perfect for fueling my body and brain during late night studying!

It literally took about 3 minutes to whip up the batter for this rice cake. The longest part of the prep process was waiting for the oven to preheat!

This is my new favorite baked rice cake! I like it even better than the red bean mochi cake I made for my birthday last year. It’s crispy on the outside and so, so chewy. Plus, it’s filling and nutritious! You can add any dried fruit, nuts, and beans you like – apricots, dates, walnuts, chestnuts, chickpeas, blackbeans, etc., etc., etc.

I’d definitely bring this along for our road trip if it wasn’t all gone already! Sadly, I didn’t have any more adzukis, so I baked some cappuccino cookies instead. :) Time for 10+ hours in the car!

Loaded Sweet Rice Cake

Source: adapted from shinshine

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sweet rice flour (Mochiko)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup dried cranberries (or other dried fruit)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (or any nuts/seeds)
  • 2 cups boiled, drained sweet red (adzuki) beans (or beans of your choice)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans (or one 11×7 inch pan) and line with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine sweet rice flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk and egg, then pour into dry ingredients and mix well.

3. Stir dried cranberries and pecans into the batter. Gently fold in the cooked adzuki beans.

4. Scrape batter into prepared ban and spread evenly. Bake for 50-60 minutes, until top is golden and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

5. Cool in pan for about 10 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completley before cutting into slices.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert, Rice Cakes

4 responses to “Loaded Sweet Rice Cake

  1. oh I’m loving all the ingredients in this!

  2. This sounds interesting and really tasty!

  3. Hi there – it looks great! Thanks for trying the recipe and making your own version come alive in your kitchen. You have so many good things here I don’t know which one I should try first – maybe cappuccino cookies? Have a fun trip! ^_^

  4. That looks amazingly rich and delicious! I love anything with sticky rice in it. My family has always steamed them, but your version makes me want to try baking one too :)

Leave a Reply

