Salted Fudge Brownies

I woke up this morning to discover that the university is closed today due to the inclement weather. Of course, during my 3.5 years in college, the only day the university closes is on the day that I have no classes!

Anyways, it’s been a week and a half since Valentine’s Day, and I STILL haven’t eaten any of the chocolate I got for the occassion. The only Valentine’s Day candy that I’ve had are a couple of the ginger-flavored hard candies that Ahra gave me. This is really strange because normally I can’t be in the same room with a box of dark chocolates without devouring the whole thing in one sitting!

I think the boyfriend is a little concerned that I haven’t even eaten ONE of the fancy chocolates that he gifted me on V-Day. Every time he sees the completely untouched box, he asks me when I plan on eating them. :)

It’s not that I don’t want to eat the chocolates, it’s just that there are currently so many other wonderful chocolate treats around captivating my attention! Like the AMAZING salted fudge brownies I made on Wednesday night. Oh. My. Gosh.

These are, without a doubt, the most fabulous brownies I have ever made. They are wonderfully fudgy and super chocolatey. Simply divine! The sea salted swirled into the batter just takes them over the top! The only thing I would do differently is to reduce the baking time (my oven is on the hot side), for a slightly gooey-er brownie. Mmm. :)

If you are still scared of salty sweets, I suggest you get over your fear FAST, because you are missing out! You NEED these brownies in your life! :)

Salted Fudge Brownies

Source: Food and Wine

Ingredients

  • 12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 9-inch square pan with foil, folding the foil over the edges. Lightly butter the foil.

2. In a small saucepan, melt butter and unsweetened chocolate over very low heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and transfer to a large bowl.

3. Whisk cocoa powder, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and flour one at a time into the butter/chocolate mixture until thoroughly combined.

4. Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Sprinkle sea salt over top of batter and use a butter knife to swirl the salt into the batter.

5. Bake in preheated oven for about 35 minutes, until edges are set, but center is still soft and a toothpick inserted into center comes out coated with a bit of batter.

6. Let brownies cool in pan for 1 hour, then refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour. Lift the brownies out of the pan and peel away the foil. Cut into 16 squares and serve at room temperature.

9 Comments

Filed under Bars/Squares, Dessert

9 responses to “Salted Fudge Brownies

  1. Those brownies are making my mouth water! lol

  2. Mmm, these look delicious! They’re my exact favorite type of brownie: soft and dense. I’ve never put sea salt in my brownies though; sounds like a nice extra dash of flavor!

  3. a single tear literally just fell from my eyes.
    i am craving your baked goods like CRAZY.

  4. These look tasty! I just made brownies the other day and they were nothing like these guys. I love the sprinkling of sea salt on the top, how chic!

  5. oooh I would eat way too many of these if they were here now!

  6. Oh my goodness, what a great recipe! I’ve been looking for a similar one for ages, and I’ve finally found a perfect one in yours… I’ll be making these soon, for sure! You have a beautiful blog and I’m so glad to have found it. I’m looking forward to exploring your recipes and seeing more! :) – Georgia

  7. Pingback: Oatmeal Snack Bars | Blissful Baking

  8. Pingback: Black Bean Brownies | Blissful Baking

  9. Pingback: Salted Caramel Cupcakes | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

