Cappuccino Cookies with Espresso and White Chocolate

At 10:30 am today, we ran out of coffee. Just a few months ago, this wouldn’t have bothered me in the least, but this morning, I was frantic. I blame my recent coffee addiction on Ahra, who’s even more crazy about it than I am! :)

I’ve always LOVED coffee-flavored desserts (especially ice cream!), and I’d enjoy a mocha or latte on occassion, but I never understood those people who just HAD to have coffee every morning. Now I know.

I know my body definitely doesn’t NEED it, and I’m not even sure if the caffeine really has any effect on me at all. I guess it’s more of a psychological dependence? I don’t know, but if I don’t have a big cup of strong black coffee, then it is just NOT a good day.

Getting through tomorrow without coffee might not be pretty, so I’ll have to get my daily dose through other means. Maybe by eating a bunch of cappuccino cookies with espresso and white chocolate? :)

The coffee flavor really stands out in these cookies (which I love!), and the sweet bits of white chocolate are the most perfect complement. This is definitely one of my top 5 favorite cookie recipes ever. They are really, REALLY good! :)

Just in case these cookies don’t do the trick, I’ll be supplementing with lots of tea, my first true love! :)

Cappucino Cookies with Espresso and White Chocolate

Source: Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons instant espresso or coffee powder (I used 4 tablespoons of instant coffee powder)
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white chocolate chunks (I used about 2/3 cup white chocolate chips)

Directions

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and instant espresso or coffee powder. Set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar until light and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes. Stop the mixer and use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add egg, egg yolk, and vanilla extract, and beat on medium speed until mixture is fluffy, about 1-2 minutes.

3. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and beat on low speed until just combined. Fold in the white chocolate chunks or chips with a spatula. Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 45 minutes.

4. Place racks in the center and upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

5. Scoop heaping tablespoonfuls of cookie dough onto the prepared baking pans, spacing them about 1 1/2-2 inches apart. Bake in preheated oven for about 12 minutes, until edges are lightly browned. Remove from oven, and allow cookies to cool on pans for about 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

6 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Dessert

6 responses to “Cappuccino Cookies with Espresso and White Chocolate

  1. I’ve never made anything with coffee just b/c I don’t want it to be too overpowering but omg those look delicious.

  2. I’ve only gotten into coffee flavored desserts recently (hello, adulthood). These cookies look awesome! And I would love to have them with coffee. Overkill? I don’t think so.

  3. I love these cookies! I actually just made and wrote a blog post about this recipe too, as I am also a coffee lover. The only thing I did differently was using regular coffee grounds instead of instant coffee or espresso; they turned out *very* tasty. ^_^

  4. Pingback: Loaded Sweet Rice Cake | Blissful Baking

  5. Pingback: Green Tea White Chocolate Chip Cookies | Blissful Baking

  6. Pingback: Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

