Oil-Free Apple Pie Muffin Tops

The gorgeous weather last week was so wonderful! I did things that I haven’t been able to do in ages!

I went outdoors without bundling up in my big puffy white coat, gloves, scarf, hat, and boots. During the winter, I transform into an oversized marshmallow whenever I go outside, but for a few days I looked like a human being again. I even wore heels once! :)

Also, I went on a lovely midnight stroll with Deborah during the middle of the week. I absolutely love  late night walks in the dark – they’re SO peaceful and relaxing! It was so nice to be able to walk outside without freezing to death.

On Friday afternoon, I ran 5 miles outside, and it was glorious. The treadmill is my best friend during the winter, but sometimes I get bored out of my mind during long runs!

And I had apple pie! Well, sort of. :) They were actually apple pie muffin tops. And actually, this really has nothing to do with the beautiful weather. Just my random cravings for Thanksgiving desserts during the middle of February!

I was so pleased at how pronounced the apple pie flavor was in these muffin tops! They were wonderfully moist, dense and chewy, and they smelled so delicious that I ate two straight off the baking pan just moments after they came out of the oven!

Another reason why I love these apple pie muffin tops is that they are completely oil-free. They’re made made with whole wheat flour, so they make a great healthy breakfast or snack that tastes like dessert!

Note: The original recipe for these muffin tops is vegan, but as I didn’t have any ground flax seeds to make a flax egg, I just used two egg whites. If you’d like to make this recipe vegan, just substitute the two egg whites with 1 tablespoon of flax seed meal mixed with 3 tablespoons of water.

Oil-Free Apple Pie Muffin Tops

Source: adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients

Apple Pie Mixture:

  • 2 Granny Smith apples (I used Fuji)
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup (I only used 2 tablespoons because my apples were sweet)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

Dry Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted these)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Wet ingredients:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used soy milk)
  • 1/3 cup mashed banana (about 1 ripe medium-sized banana)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Finely grate one of the apples and chop the other into 1-inch pieces. (I left the peels on, but feel free to remove them if you prefer). Combine the grated and chopped apples to a pot along with maple syrup and lemon juice. Cook over medium-low heat for 5-10 minutes while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

3. Whisk together dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl, whisk together wet ingredients until thoroughly combined.

4. When the apple pie mixture has cooked and softened for about 5-10 minutes, add it to the wet ingredients and mix well. Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

5. Scoop about 2 tablespoons of batter for each muffin top and place them 1 1/2 – 2 inches apart on the parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 13-14 minutes, until slightly golden in color, but still soft.

6. Allow to cool on pan for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes about 18 muffin tops.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dessert, Muffins

4 responses to “Oil-Free Apple Pie Muffin Tops

  1. Those muffin tops look amazing! Makes me want a muffin really bad lol

  2. no way! these looks incredible! gosh, I wish I had them here ready for breakfast tomorrow!

  3. These look great! I pretty much love any OSG recipe :)

  4. Pingback: Mini Pecan Pie Muffins | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

