Snickerdoodle Dessert Hummus

Football is one of those things that I couldn’t care less about. It gets third place for most boring sport to watch after golf and baseball. So seeing as I’m not a huge football fan, I obviously did not watch the Super Bowl yesterday. But that doesn’t mean I missed out on the snacking! :)

I didn’t get to enjoy the typical Super Bowl fare such as chips and salsa or pizza or whatever people usually eat while watching men in tight pants knock each other over, but what I had was much, MUCH better.

I had (too many) spoonfuls of Snickerdoodle dessert hummus that I made earlier in the weekend. At first, the idea of a sweet hummus sounded really weird to me, but after one bite, I fell head over heels in love. It is SO addictively good and I just can’t stop myself from going to the refrigerator to get another bite!

The combination of almond butter, maple syrup, and cinnamon is WONDERFUL, and you really can’t taste the chickpeas at all! The hummus actually resembles the taste of classic Snickerdoodle cookies, too. Delish!

Eating the Snickerdoodle dessert hummus straight out of the container with a spoon is my favorite way to eat this dip (it feels so indulgent!), but you could also serve it on a platter with apple and banana slices, graham crackers, cinnamon sugar pita chips, etc.

Oh, and after I had a zillion spoonfuls of this yummy stuff, I finished off the pint of Mitchell’s Coffee Chip ice cream in our freezer with Ahra and Deborah… because the kid’s size portion of cake batter ice cream I had at Cold Stone earlier that day just didn’t cut it! :)

Snickerdoodle Dessert Hummus

Source: The Wannabe Chef

Ingredients

  • 2 cups chickpeas (1 14-ounce can), drained and washed
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • cinnamon sugar for garnish (I skipped this)

Directions

1. Remove skins from chickpeas and place them in a food processor with almond butter, maple syrup, brown sugar, and cinnamon.

2. Process for about 1 minute, until all ingredients are thoroughly combined and the dip is smooth.

3. Transfer hummus to a serving bowl and garnish with cinnamon sugar. Store leftovers in the refrigerator.

11 Comments

Filed under Dessert

11 responses to “Snickerdoodle Dessert Hummus

  1. I have yet to have a dessert hummus, but this is super intriguing! I love snickerdoodles!

  2. hummus! that tastes like a snickerdoodle cookie?! two of my favorite things on earth. i can’t wait to make this : )

  3. what a fun idea for hummus!

  4. I love hummus and I love sweets, so I am excited to combine this into a dessert treat!

  5. What a delicious idea! I bet this is one incredibly addictive hummus. So creative, too. Thanks for sharing. I’m so glad to have found your blog and look forward to seeing more! :) – Georgia

  6. I am 100% making this tomorrow. I heart hummus and honestly, anything with brown sugar, I’ll eat. Found your blog today and loved it! Keep the unique recipes coming!!

  7. Pingback: Cinnamon Sugar Flatbread Crackers | Blissful Baking

  8. Pingback: Orange Ginger Date Bites | Blissful Baking

  9. Pingback: Peanut Butter Chickpea Blondies | Blissful Baking

  10. Quick question, how are you removing the skins on the chickpeas? Are you pick through all the peas one at a time? Thanks for the help, I am thinking this might get the 13 year-old to eat something other than cookies after school.

    • Hi Michelle,

      Yup, I pick through the chickpeas and peel off the skins one at a time. It is a tedious task, but it makes the hummus really smooth and creamy. It’s not totally necessary though, so if you don’t mind if your hummus isn’t super creamy, then feel free to skip this step.

      And yes, this would be a great after school snack – especially with apples and graham crackers!

Leave a Reply

