Banana Cream Pie

I have the most awesome schedule this semester. Except for one pesky class that lasts from 5:00 to 7:30 pm on Wednesdays nights, I pretty much love my schedule. I have no class AND no work on Fridays, which means that every weekend is a 3-day weekend! This coming Monday is Martin Luther King Jr. holiday, so I have a 4-day weekend!! :)

Even though I had nowhere in particular to be this morning, I still got up around 8 am. I don’t think sleeping in is really my thing… I just can’t bear the thought of missing breakfast! :) I made myself a bowl of oatmeal with roasted Korean sweet potato again and enjoyed it while sipping on a mug of mango black tea and catching up with my favorite blogs. Such a lovely way to start off the morning!

I know I should really use my extra time on Fridays to do something productive like work on my senior capstone project or get a head start on reading for my classes, but I decided to just take it easy today and spend my time blogging about my favorite banana cream pie… in bed! :)

Although I’m not a fan of eating ripe bananas, this pie is an exception. The creamy custard and buttery graham cracker crust are pretty irresistible! Banana cream pie is one of those desserts that never lasts long around our suite – every last crumb was devoured 40 minutes after I took it out of the refrigerator last night! I was looking forward to having a slice today, but I guess I should have known the pie would be long gone.

Time to do some more baking! :)

Banana Cream Pie

Source: adapted from Food.com

Ingredients

For the crust:

  • 1 heaping cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:

  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 cups cold milk
  • 2 large eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3 bananas, sliced

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Combine graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar in a small bowl. Toss with a fork until all the crumbs are moistened and all the ingredients are evenly mixed.

3. Press graham cracker mixture firmly on the bottom and up the sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Bake in preheated oven for 5-7 minutes.

3. In a medium saucepan, combine cornstarch, sugar, and salt. Pour in milk and whisk to dissolve. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is thick and bubbling.

4. Pour about 1/4 of the hot mixture into the beaten eggs and mix thoroughly. Return egg mixture to saucepan and continue cooking, stirring constantly, until filling is thick and bubbling again.

5. Remove mixture from heat. Stir in butter and vanilla.

6. Pour 1/2 of filling into baked pie shell. Layer 2 of the sliced bananas on top of the filling, then pour the remaining mixture on top of the bananas.

7. Allow filling to cool to room temperature, then refrigerate. Just before serving, top the pie with the third sliced banana.

11 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Pies

11 responses to “Banana Cream Pie

  1. I’ve always kind of anti-cream pies for some reason, but I’m not really sure why, and I love bananas, so maybe I’ll give this one another shot. :) It looks great!

  2. YUM! This is one thing I’ve never attempted making – I’m so impressed!

  3. Banana Cream Pie is the best!!! You make it sound so easy! Thanks! :)

  4. This looks delicious! Banana cream pie is so nostalgic.
    I love it when classes work out and you get a good schedule. I’m crossing my fingers for that this semester.

  5. I haven’t had a graham cracker crust with banana cream pie. Fabulous idea!

  6. Holy yum!! i love how many bananas are loaded into it!

  7. Deborah

    i loved it! yummy in my tummy :)
    please make it again sometime haha

  8. One of my favorite pies!

  9. Pingback: Orange Ginger Date Bites | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

