Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I went on a road trip with my suitemates to Washington DC/NOVA this weekend, which means I wasn’t able to bake for 3 whole days. So when we got back on Sunday afternoon, I baked up a batch of my (current) favorite chocolate chip cookies.

I feel a little guilty calling these my favorite because it is not my mom’s recipe. I love my mom’s chocolate chip cookies, but I like these cookies slightly better because they are CHEWY. This increases their deliciousness factor by at least 10 times.  Even my suitemate Deborah, who is not a fan of sweets (she’s weird), really liked these chocolate chip cookies.

Another spectacular thing about this recipe is that it is super quick and easy, and you can have fresh chocolate chip cookies in no time at all. The recipe calls for melted butter, which means no waiting and waiting for butter soften when you need to have cookies RIGHT NOW.

The only major change I made to this recipe was to use less chocolate chips than originally called for. Even though I absolutely adore chocolate, I prefer a higher ratio of dough to chip in my chocolate chip cookies. I only used a little over a half cup of chocolate chips.

I’ve heard rave reviews about  Alton Brown’s, the New York Times’, David Lebovitz’s, and Cooks Illustrated chocolate chip cookie recipes, and I plan on trying them out in the future, but for now, these are my favorite :)

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Source: adapted from Brown Eyed Baker, originally from Baking Illustrated

Ingredients

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons (10 5/8 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
1 cup packed (7 ounces) light or dark brown sugar
1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1-1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Adjust the oven racks to the upper- and lower-middle positions and pre heat the oven to 325° F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.

3. Either by hand or with an electric mixer, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed just until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

4. Roll a scant 1/2 cup of the dough into a ball. Hold the dough ball with the fingertips of both hands and pull into 2 equal halves. Rotate the halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, place the formed dough balls on the prepared baking sheets, spacing them 2 inches apart.

5. Bake until the cookies are light golden brown and the outer edges start to harden yet the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on baking sheets until able to lift without breaking. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

11 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Dessert

11 responses to “Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. hanjoon

    confession: i lied in the pbnj post. THESE are my fav. :)

  2. Deborah

    these were so scrumptious :)
    p.s. i am not weird!

  3. chanmi :)

    LOVED THESE!!!!

  4. made these for dessert tonight, all I can say is “duuuuude”

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Surprise Cookies | My Baking Empire

  6. Pingback: Chewy Sugar Cookies | Blissful Baking

  7. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Filled Oat Muffins | Blissful Baking

  8. OMG this is my new favorite chocolate chip recipe! Gone in a matter of two days, I tell you.

  9. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Bread | Blissful Baking

Leave a Reply

